Jump to main content


Four Changes For Ireland Women

Four Changes For Ireland Women

The Ireland Women’s side travel to Meggetland this Friday for their must-win clash with Scotland in this year’s RBS Women’s 6 Nations Championship.

Ireland Women’s coach Steven Hennessy has made four changes to the side that was defeated by England a fortnight ago.

Jeannette Feighery comes back into the starting line-up on the right wing, in place of injured Grace Davitt.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Shannon Houston has been promoted from the bench to inside centre with Helen Brosnan moving to the replacements.

Notably, Cooke team-mates Lauren Day and Laura Nicholl make their first appearances in a matchday squad in this year’s Championship

Coach Hennessy said: “The England game was tough, but we played a great first half and are focusing on that performance.

“While we were obviously disappointed with the end result we took a lot of positives from that game.

“We have a good record against Scotland, but we won’t be underestimating them on Friday. We have prepared for a tough physical game and are ready for it. 

“We are aware this is a vital game, a win on Friday will automatically qualify us for next year’s World Cup and put us in a great position for the final week of the Championship where it will be all to play for.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Scotland Women, 2009 RBS Women’s 6 Nations Championship, Meggetland, Friday, March 13, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
14 – Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13 – Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
11 – Amy Davis (Blackrock/Ulster)
10 – Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Ulster)
9 – Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
1 – Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
2 – Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
3 – Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4 – Caroline Mahon (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
5 – Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
6 – Louise Austin (Blackrock/Leinster)
7 – Sinead Ryan (Navan/Leinster)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)


16 – Jess Limbert (Lichfield/Ulster)
17 – Lauren Day (Cooke/Ulster)
18 – Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
19 – Debbie Clarke (Blackrock/Leinster)
20 – Louise Beamish (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21 – Laura Nicholl (Cooke/Ulster)
22 – Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)