Jump to main content


Leinster Name Strong Squad For Scarlets Trip

Leinster Name Strong Squad For Scarlets Trip

The Leinster squad to face the Scarlets at Parc y Scarlets on Saturday (kick-off 5.30pm) has been named.

Ireland stars Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Shane Horgan, Shane Jennings and Malcolm O’Kelly have all named in a strong Leinster panel.

The province’s extended squad also includes Cian Healy, Sean O’Brien and Jonathan Sexton who each impressed for the Ireland ‘A’ team last weekend.

Felipe Contepomi, Rocky Elsom
and Isa Nacewa also bolster selection options for the province’s first ever visit to Parc y Scarlets.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking ahead of Saturday’s Magners League clash, Leinster defence coach Kurt McQuilkin believes that the squad are in good shape for a big test against the Scarlets.

“The thing about facing a squad of the quality of Llanelli is that you have to be on top of your game to get a result,” he said.

“They are a class outfit and they will put it up to you, so it’s a test that we’re going to have face with great intensity.

“They’re a side that likes to play in your face. They come at you and have threats all over the park.

“Regan King is dangerous and their back-three are very sharp. Simon Easterby brings great experience up front and is a proven international player, so we will need to be positive against them.

“We will take positives from last year’s away win in Stradey Park (24-10). The conditions that day were treacherous, with a gusting wind and driving rain all evening but we dug deep and got the result.

“Our defence was strong that day and we will need to have our ‘A’ game this week because we will also be mindful of our heavy defeat to them at the RDS last season.”

Meanwhile, a large number of Leinster supporters will be making the trip to Llanelli this weekend on a specially chartered flight, in association with Aer Arann, the official airline to the Leinster team.

An official Supporters Guide for those making the trip will be available to download from www.leinsterrugby.ie this week.

LEINSTER Squad (v Scarlets): Backs (10) – Simon Keogh, Paul O’Donohoe, Isa Nacewa, Jonathan Sexton, Gary Brown, Felipe Contepomi, Gordon D’Arcy, Fergus McFadden, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey

Forwards (15) – Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack, Brian Blaney, John Fogarty, Stephen Knoop, Stan Wright, Trevor Hogan, Cameron Jowitt, Malcolm O’Kelly, Devin Toner, Rocky Elsom, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien, Stephen Keogh