Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Team Announced

Ireland Women’s Team Announced

Ireland Women’s coach Steven Hennessy has named his team for the opening RBS Women’s 6 Nations clash against France at St. Mary’s College RFC on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm).

The Ireland Women’s team will begin their RBS Women’s 6 Nations campaign this Friday with a mouth-watering match against France at St. Mary’s College RFC’s home ground, Templeville Road (kick-off 7.30pm).

Ireland Women’s coach Steven Hennessy, has picked a strong squad with Joy Neville named as captain in place of the retired Sarahjane Belton.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The experienced panel has a combined 431 caps with one uncapped player, Connacht’s Clare Molloy, on the bench.

The Women’s side will be hoping to build on last year’s fourth place finish and their recent strong performance against a England select side in December.

Speaking about his selection and the upcoming tournament, Hennessy said: “I have been really impressed with the skills, dedication and commitment the girls have shown over the last number of weeks.

“I am just looking at the French game for now and with them first up at home It is a real chance for us to set out our stall for the rest of the season.”

Tickets for this game are available at the gate.

IRELAND WOMEN’S TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v France Women, RBS Women’s 6 Nations Championship, St. Mary’s College RFC, Friday, February 6, kick-off 7.30pm):

15. Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Ulster)
14. Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12. Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)
11. Amy Davis (Blackrock/Ulster)
10. Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
9. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
2. Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
3. Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4. Caroline Mahon (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
5. Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
6. Louise Austin (Blackrock/Leinster)
7. Sinead Ryan (Blackrock/Leinster)
8. Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)


16. Jess Limbert (Cooke/Ulster)
17. Emer McManamly (Blackrock/Leinster)
18. Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
19. Clare Molloy (Cardiff Harlequins/Connacht)
20. Louise Beamish (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21. Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
22. Grace Davitt (Blackrock/Leinster)

Player Profiles