Jump to main content


Glynn Cup To Make Its Return

Glynn Cup To Make Its Return

The Glynn Cup, one of Connacht Rugby’s most cherished trophies, will make a return to the scene this St. Patrick’s Day as Galwegians and Corinthians prepare to do battle in a novel and exciting way.

In a first for club rugby anywhere in Ireland, Galway city’s two AIB League clubs will do battle in a Ryder Cup, matchplay-style contest with every team in the club having a part to play.

It is exactly 50 years ago this season since the Glynn Cup was first played for and up until a decade ago the trophy took pride of place in the Connacht calendar with Corinthians winning 21 titles and Galwegians 17 in what was always a healthy and strong rivalry between the two clubs.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Corinthian Park will host the event on St. Patrick’s Day that sees the clubs meet at all age groups from the Minis, Under-13s up to Under-18s in the youths section and at adult level from thirds to senior.

The ladies will also be in action and in all there will be a total of ten 60-minute games taking place between 11am and 5 pm.

Each team will be playing for a point in the overall standings with half a point awarded for a draw. Should the sides be level, the senior match will decide the overall outcome of the competition.

The cup was first played for on March 17, 1959 in honour of Johnny Glynn and continued up until 1999 when Corinthians won their 21st title.

The competition has been graced by such notable names as Warren Gatland, Eric Elwood, Brendan Guerin and Tony O’Sullivan, who all played for Galwegians, while former Ireland international Noel Mannion also took part for Corinthians during his career.

Ciaran Smyth leads the way in Glynn Cup wins having played in 14 Corinthians victories, while Danno Heaslip was on the winning Galwegians team ten times.

As well as counting to the overall outcome of the event, the games involving the Youth teams in each club will also contribute to the Langan Trophy competition which will be awarded to the club with most wins in the youth matches.

In keeping with IRFU guidelines, the Mini rugby games will be non-competitive with an emphasis on fun and will act as the precursor to the senior match which will kick-off at 4pm.