Jump to main content


Ireland ‘A’ Team to Play England Saxons

Ireland ‘A’ Team to Play England Saxons

The Ireland ‘A’ team to play the England Saxons at Donnybrook on Friday has been named. The team contains a number of uncapped players and will be captained by Bob Casey.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney today announced the Ireland ‘A’ team to play England Saxons at Donnybrook this Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

Bob Casey will again captain the side having done so last season during the Churchill Cup. Casey is one of a number of capped players named in the team.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scrum half Eoin Reddan, winger Andrew Trimble and full-back Gavin Duffy are the capped players in the back-line, while Shane Jennings and Neil Best will hope to bring their experience to bear up front.

Leinster’s Jonathan Sexton will partner Reddan at half-back, with Darren Cave, Mark McCrea and Keith Matthews completing the back-line.

In the front row, Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Mike Ross will pack down together and be backed up by Casey and Ryan Caldwell. Connacht skipper John Muldoon completes the back row alongside Best and Jennings.

Tickets for this game are available on www.ticketmaster.ie.

IRELAND ‘A’ TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v England Saxons, ‘A’ International Match, Donnybrook, Friday, February 6, kick-off 7.35pm):

15 – Gavin Duffy (Galwegians – Connacht)

14 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena – Ulster)

13 – Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)*

12 – Keith Matthews (Buccaneers – Connacht)*

11 – Mark McCrea (Malone – Ulster)*

10 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)*

9 – Eoin Reddan (Wasps)

1 – Cian Healy (Clontarf – Leinster)*

2 – Sean Cronin (Buccaneers – Connacht)*

3 – Mike Ross (Harlequins)*

4 – Bob Casey (London Irish) (capt)

5 – Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon – Ulster)*

6 – Neil Best (Northampton)

7 – Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)

8 – John Muldoon (Galwegians – Connacht)*


16 – John Fogarty (Clontarf – Leinster)*

17 – John Andress (Exeter)*

18 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon – Munster)

19 – Sean O’Brien (Clontarf – Leinster)*

20 – Isaac Boss (Ballymena – Ulster)

21 – Ian Humphreys (Ballymena – Ulster)*

22 – Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians – Munster)

*denotes uncapped players

Ireland ‘A’ Player Profiles