Jump to main content



AIB Junior Cup First Round Results

AIB Junior Cup First Round Results

The first round of the AIB Junior Cup saw holders Navan go through against former winners Seapoint in a tough game at Kilbogget Park.

The all Leinster, all cup holders first round game saw last season’s winners emerge victorious. Navan travelled to Seapoint as favourites and lived up to the tag winning by 12 – 23 at Kilbogget Park.

The other Leinster clubs also came through the opening stage as 2008 beaten finalists Tullamore travelled to Cooke and won out 10 – 16. Cup newcomers Cill Dara headed west and won out in a hard fought game 6 – 10.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The all Connacht derby went the way of Westport as they beat Corrib on the road. Castlebar lost at home to Richmond while Cashel and Ballymoney were the only home teams to win as they saw off Clogher Valley and  St. Senan’s respectively.

The tie bewteen Armagh and Crosshaven was postponed and will now be played on Saturday January 10th.

The draw for the next round of the AIB Junior Cup and the AIB Cup will be made in Bective next weekend following the completion of Round 3 of the AIB Cup.

AIB Junior Cup – First Round

Armagh P – P Crosshaven

Ballina 6 – 10 Cill Dara

Ballymoney 23 – 3 St. Senan’s

Cashel 49 – 3 Clogher Valley

Castlebar RFC 17 – 23 Richmond

Corrib RFC 11 – 14 Westport

Seapoint 12 – 23 Navan RFC 

Cooke 10 – 16 Tullamore