Jump to main content


Leinster Colleges Too Strong For Munster

Leinster Colleges Too Strong For Munster

Leinster will meet Ulster in the final of Irish Colleges Union Interprovincial Series, which is sponsored by Treasury Holdings, after they comfortably saw off the challenge of Munster 59-13 at Monkstown FC on Wednesday afternoon.

Playing against a deceptively strong breeze in the first period, Leinster took the game by the scruff of the neck thanks to some silky running lines which constantly had Munster on the back foot.

Tries from Cian Culleton and Lorcan Kavanagh confirmed that dominance with out-half Brian Collins hitting a further eight points courtesy of a drop goal, a penalty and a conversion.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

That left Leinster firmly in control by half-time as they led 18-6. Munster’s points came courtesy of two Gary Jones penalties. 

On the resumption, it proved to be more of the same from the eastern side and backed by nature’s elements, the scores began to come for the men in blue at a frenetic pace.

Ian Leonard, Donagh O’Shea and a hat-trick from St. Mary’s College clubman Darragh Fanning had Leinster cruising by the 55th minute mark.

And although Kevin Lynch sneaked in behind the Leinster cover for Munster’s only try, Collins and Leonard wrapped up a resounding home win in the concluding stages.

The Series final will take at Monkstown’s grounds at Sydney Parade on Wednesday, December 17, with Ulster standing in Leinster’s way.

Seeking their first Interpro title, Ulster progressed to the final with a fine 58-8 win over Connacht in Enniskillen on Tuesday.

LEINSTER COLLEGES: M Geraghty; C Marron, L Kavanagh, G Coffey, D Fanning; B Collins, D Toman; J Roe, C Culleton, I Leonard, R Copeland, R Smith, J Downey, E Nihill, A Dunlop.

Replacements: D O’Shea, C Hogan, R O’Neill, N Lawless, D Hegarty, B McCarthy.

MUNSTER COLLEGES: I Watchorn; J English, G Jones, K Lynch, C Burkley; E Tubridy, C Nagle; F Lawlor, B Duggan, TJ Relaghan, D Barry, J Gilmartin, S Hassett, S Young, S Melbourne.

Replacements: K Maggs, K Murphy, J McSweeney, E White, D Sheridan, E Cullinane, N McGrath, D Murphy, S Casey.

Referee: David Keane (IRFU)