Jump to main content



McCaw And Company Return For New Zealand

McCaw And Company Return For New Zealand

Team captain Richie McCaw is one of eleven changes coach Graham Henry has made to the New Zealand side to face Ireland at Croke Park this coming Saturday (kick-off 5.15pm).

Graham Henry has retained just four players from the starting line-up for last weekend’s 32-6 win over Scotland at Murrayfield.

The New Zealand think-tank has selected a largely first choice team to take on Ireland.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Joe Rokocoko, who will be winning his 50th cap, Ali Williams, Keven Mealamu and Ma’a Nonu are the only survivors from the Scotland game, with second row Williams the only player to start the first three Tests of the All Blacks’ autumn tour.

Dan Carter is back in his familiar number 10 role, ready to lock horns with Ronan O’Gara. Carter kicked 11 points in New Zealand’s 21-11 win over Ireland in Wellington in June.

New father Mils Muliaina, winger Sitiveni Sivivatu, centre Conrad Smith and scrum half Jimmy Cowan have also been recalled in the backs.

In the pack, the experienced Rodney So’oialo, Jerome Kaino, Brad Thorn, Neemia Tialata and Tony Woodcock have all been reintroduced.

NEW ZEALAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Ireland, GUINNESS Series 2008, Croke Park, Saturday, November 15, kick-off 5.15pm):

15 – Mils Muliaina (Waikato/Chiefs)

14 – Joe Rokocoko (Auckland/Blues)

13 – Conrad Smith (Wellington/Hurricanes)

12 – Ma’a Nonu (Wellington/Hurricanes)

11 – Sitiveni Sivivatu (Waikato/Chiefs)

10 – Dan Carter (Canterbury/Crusaders)

9 – Jimmy Cowan (Southland/Highlanders)

1 – Tony Woodcock (North Harbour/Blues)

2 – Keven Mealamu (Auckland/Blues)

3 – Neemia Tialata (Wellington/Hurricanes)

4 – Brad Thorn (Tasman/Crusaders)

5 – Ali Williams (Tasman/Crusaders)

6 – Jerome Kaino (Auckland/Blues)

7 – Richie McCaw (Canterbury/Crusaders) (capt)

8 – Rodney So’oialo (Wellington/Hurricanes)


16 – Corey Flynn (Canterbury/Crusaders)

17 – John Afoa (Auckland/Blues)

18 – Anthony Boric (North Harbour/Blues)

19 – Kieran Read (Canterbury/Crusaders)

20 – Piri Weepu (Wellington/Hurricanes)

21 – Stephen Donald (Waikato/Chiefs)

22 – Isaia Toeava (Auckland/Blues)