Jump to main content



Champions Shannon Drawn At Home To Ballynahinch

Champions Shannon Drawn At Home To Ballynahinch

The draw for the third round of the AIB Cup was made in Navan RFC on Saturday evening. Defending champions Shannon, who accounted for Blackrock College in the second round, have been drawn at home to Ballynahinch, the current Division Two leaders.

The draw for the third round of the AIB Cup took place in the welcoming surrounds of Navan RFC on Saturday evening.

Navan are the defending champions in the AIB Junior Cup and were hosting the draws for the first round of that competition as well as the third round of the AIB Cup.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The draw was made by John Lyons, the IRFU President, and Carl Morgan from AIB Navan, along with Pat Fitzgerald, who is the Chairman of the IRFU Commercial and Marketing Committee.

They were welcomed to the club by Navan RFC President Philip Brady.

Defending champions Shannon, who overcame last season’s beaten finalists, Blackrock College, earlier in the afternoon, earned themselves a home tie against Ballynahinch

Reigning AIB League Division One champions Cork Constitution will face a trip to Bruff, who are one of four Division Two teams to have reached this stage of the competition.

Highfield, who also play in the second tier of the AIB League, can join their compatriots if they beat Galwegians in their second round tie on November 22.

Ards, who defeated Old Wesley in the second round, are the only Division Three team through to the third round – although they will be joined soon by either Nenagh Ormond or Barnhall, whose second round match has been deferred to next weekend.

There are two all-Division encounters to look forward to in the next round – Young Munster v UCD and Buccaneers v UL Bohemians.

The third round matches will be played on the weekend of Saturday January 10, 2009.


Dolphin v Ards

Galwegians or Highfield v Nenagh Ormond or Barnhall

Young Munster v UCD

Shannon v Ballynahinch

Buccanneers v UL Bohemians

UCC v Old Belvedere

Bruff v Cork Constitution

Bective Rangers v Garryowen