Jump to main content


AIB League: Results Round-Up

AIB League: Results Round-Up

St. Mary’s College powered their way to the top of the AIB League Division One table, beating Ballymena for their second successive bonus point win. Bruff are out on their own at Division Two’s summit, while Midleton and Portadown have joined County Carlow at the head of proceedings in Division Three.

2008/09 AIB LEAGUE: Saturday, October 11


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article


Scorers: Galwegians: Tries: Brian Murphy, David Nolan, Chris Briegl, Liam Casserly; Cons: Matt Brandon, Robert O’Beirne; Pen: Robert O’Beirne
Dungannon: Tries: Derek Hall, Michael Rainey; Con: John McGuckin; Pens: John McGuckin 2; Drop: James Shiells

Galwegians posted their first AIB League win under new coach Kevin Tierney, courtesy of a fiery display against Dungannon.

In an entertaining clash, ‘Wegians scored three tries in the opening 26 minutes at Crowley Park.

Winger Brian Murphy touched down after barely 30 seconds, lock David Nolan scored on 20 minutes and South African Chris Briegl followed him.

An intercept try from Dungannon flanker Derek Hall made it 17-11 at half-time. But Liam Casserly scored off a pushover to chalk up ‘Wegians’ bonus point.


Scorers: Garryowen: Tries: Kieran Lewis, Lorcan Bourke, Conor Kilroy; Con: Conor Kilroy; Pens: Conor Kilroy 3
Blackrock College: Tries: Shane Monahan, Kyle Tonetti; Con: Darragh Fitzpatrick; Pens: Darragh Fitzpatrick 6, Niall Morris

Darragh Fitzpatrick kicked 20 points as Blackrock College overturned a half-time deficit to beat Limerick opposition for the second week running in the AIB League.

Out-half Fitzpatrick, a key figure against Shannon last week, booted five penalties and converted Shane Monahan”s first half try.

Lorcan Bourke and Kieran Lewis helped themselves to tries as Garryowen muscled into a 15-13 half-time lead at Dooradoyle.

Home full-back Conor Kilroy completed a 16-point personal haul, but Rock took the verdict thanks to the sure-footed Fitzpatrick.


Scorers: Shannon: Try: Richie Mullane; Con: Tadhg Bennett; Pens: Tadhg Bennett 5; Drop: Tadhg Bennett
Buccaneers: Tries: Mark Bruce, Simon Rolleston, John O’Brien; Pens: Alan Gaughan 2

Shannon scrapped their way to their first win of the AIB League season and had out-half Tadhg Bennett to thank for their Coonagh success.

Buccaneers scored three tries but Bennett kicked a match-winning 20 points for the hosts.

Helped by the inclusion of Munster’s Donnacha Ryan and Tony Buckley, Shannon took a 13-11 lead into the break, with winger Richie Mullane touching down.

Buccs mustered tries through Mark Bruce, Simon Rolleston and John O’Brien but crucially they missed four kicks at goal.

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE 31 BALLYMENA 20, Templeville Road

Scorers: St. Mary’s College: Tries: Matt D’Arcy 2, Shaun McCarthy 2, Stephen Grissing; Cons: Shaun McCarthy 3
Ballymena: Tries: Tommy Seymour 2, Penalty try; Con: Tom Woods; Pen: Tom Woods

St. Mary’s College made it two AIB League wins out of two with a classy dismissal of Ballymena at Templeville Road.

Coached by former Leinster flanker Ciaran Potts, Mary’s are beginning to look the part.

Ballymena were 24-7 down at the interval having conceding tries to Matt D’Arcy, Shaun McCarthy (2) and Stephen Grissing.

The Braidmen did improve in the second period, putting winger Tommy Seymour over for a brace, but scrum half D’Arcy had Mary’s out of sight with his second score.


Scorers: Terenure College: Try: Brian Blaney; Con: Conor Gildea; Pens: David McAllister 2; Drop: David McAllister
Clontarf: Tries: Michael Keating 2; Pens: Martin Dufficy 3

Michael Keating book-ended Clontarf’s second win of the AIB League campaign with tries as they beat Terenure College in a lively Dublin derby at Lakelands.

Winger Keating, a member of Belvedere College’s Leinster Senior Cup-winning side of last season, crossed the whitewash after 4 and 79 minutes.

Terenure took a 6-5 advantage into half-time thanks to two David McAllister penalties.

Despite leaking three penalties to Martin Dufficy, ‘Nure kept ahead through Brian Blaney (try) and McAllister (drop goal) before Keating had the last laugh.


Scorers: UCD: Try: Kevin McLaughlin; Con: Killian Lett
Cork Constitution: Pens: Jeremy Manning 2; Drop: Darragh Lyons

Defending champions Cork Constitution struggled past UCD in a dour AIB League encounter at Belfield.

Munster’s Mick O’Driscoll, Darragh Hurley and Jeremy Manning lined out for Con but the students were far from overawed and led 7-6 at half-time.

A well-worked try, scored by flanker Kevin McLaughlin and converted by Killian Lett, shot UCD ahead before Manning replied with two penalties.

Manning spent time in the sin-bin before an injury forced him off, however Darragh Lyons managed to boot the match-winning drop goal.


Scorers: Young Munster: Pens: Mark Connolly 3
Old Belvedere: Tries: Felix Jones, Dave Mongan; Pen: Eoin O’Malley

Old Belvedere continued their impressive start to the new AIB League campaign as they edged out hosts Young Munster at Tom Clifford Park.

Leinster centre Eoin O’Malley overcame a calf injury to feature for Belvo and kick a vital second half penalty.

Mark Connolly landed two penalties to give the Cookies a 6-0 interval lead in their first Division One home match since 2002.

But O’Malley’s kick and two unconverted tries from Felix Jones and Dave Mongan saw Belvo take the spoils.

Dolphin v UL Bohemians, Musgrave Park (2.30pm, Sunday, October 12)


Belfast Harlequins 13 Ballynahinch 16, Deramore Park, 1.30pm
Bruff 18 Thomond 16, Killballyowen Park
Clonakilty 13 Greystones 14, Shannonvale Cross
Lansdowne 37 Instonians 6, The RDS
Old Crescent 19 Dublin University 13, Rosbrien
UCC 26 Highfield 6, The Mardyke
Wanderers 6 Malone 17, Merrion Road
Bective Rangers 0 De La Salle Palmerston 0, Donnybrook (2.30pm, Sunday, October 12)


Ards 13 Corinthians 21, Hamilton Park
Barnhall 5 Connemara 26, Parsonstown
Nenagh Ormond 3 County Carlow 14, New Ormond Park
Old Wesley 34 Banbridge 17, Donnybrook
Rainey Old Boys 10 Midleton 57, Hatrick Park
Sundays Well 11 Portadown 22, Musgrave Park
Suttonians 23 Queen’s University 19, John J McDowell Memorial Ground
Waterpark 19 Naas 28, Ballinakill

To subscribe to the AIB League fixtures and results service, please text ON AIB to 53235; To unsubscribe, text STOP AIB to 53235.

Open to customers of O2, Vodafone and Meteor. Alerts cost 30c. Standard text rate to subscribe/unsubscribe.