Jump to main content


AIB League: Division One Previews

AIB League: Division One Previews

After an October 27 start last season, the 19th AIB League kicks off this Saturday with eight games down for decision in all three divisions. A total of 48 clubs – 17 from Leinster, 16 from Munster, 11 from Ulster and 4 from Connacht – will each play 15 matches from now until the Saturday after next Easter.

The provincial breakdown of the 16 clubs in Division One this season is Munster 6 (for the first time since the 1997/98 campaign), Leinster 6, Ulster 2 and Connacht 2.

Reigning champions Cork Constitution face Terenure College at Temple Hill, while UL Bohemians, alone among the four Limerick clubs, are favoured with a home fixture in Round 1.

Shannon and Garryowen are both away in Dublin, while Dublin 6W has no Division One activity, as both St. Mary’s College and Terenure College are out of town.

The two Ulster clubs in the top flight, Ballymena and Dungannon, are scheduled for games on their own patches.

The two newly-promoted clubs, Buccaneers and Young Munster, open their campaigns with games against Dolphin and Ballymena respectively.

Buccaneers have bounced back among the elite after one season’s absence and Young Munster re-appear after six long seasons in Division Two.

Dolphin travel to Athlone for the third time, but have yet to host the Pirates at home in Cork. As an aside, it is noted that four of the six Leinster representatives in Division One this season are from what are called ‘past pupils clubs.’

It is all to play for in every Division One match this season with the top eight clubs after Round 15 on April 18 forming a new Section A for the 2009/10 season and the bottom six clubs entering a new Section B, together with two promoted clubs.

All 120 fixtures will be hotly contested and bonus points for losing games by less than eight points will definitely be a bigger factor than in previous seasons.

ROUND 1: DIVISION ONE FIXTURES – Saturday, October 4

Kick-off 2.30pm unless stated –

Ballymena v Young Munster, Eaton Park

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 9; Ballymena Won: 3; Drawn: 1; Young Munster Won: 5; Ballymena At Home – Played: 5; Ballymena Won: 1; Drawn: 1; Young Munster Won: 3

Blackrock College v Shannon, Stradbrook

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 14; Blackrock Won: 3; Shannon Won: 11; Blackrock At Home – Played: 7; Blackrock Won: 1; Shannon Won: 6

Buccaneers v Dolphin, Dubarry Park

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 2; Buccaneers Won: 1; Dolphin Won: 1; Buccaneers At Home – Played: 1; Buccaneers Won: 1; Dolphin Won: 1

Clontarf v Garryowen, Castle Avenue

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 12; Clontarf Won: 5; Drawn: 1; Garryowen Won: 6; Clontarf At Home – Played: 7; Clontarf Won: 3; Garryowen Won: 4

Cork Constitution v Terenure College, Temple Hill

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 9; Cork Constitution Won: 7; Terenure College Won: 2; Cork Constitution At Home – Played: 4; Cork Constitution Won: 3; Terenure College Won: 1

Dungannon v St. Mary’s College, Stevenson Park

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 13; Dungannon Won: 3; Drawn: 1; St. Mary’s College Won: 9; Dungannon At Home – Played: 6; Dungannon Won: 3; Drawn: 1; St. Mary’s College Won: 2

Old Belvedere v UCD, Anglesea Road

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 4; Old Belvedere Won: 2; UCD Won: 2; Old Belvedere At Home – Played: 1; Old Belvedere Won: 1; UCD Won: 0

UL Bohemians v Galwegians, Anacotty

Previous AIB League Meetings – Played: 6; UL Bohemians Won: 4; Galwegians Won: 2; UL Bohemians At Home – Played: 1; UL Bohemians Won: 1; Galwegians Won: 0


Cork Constitution have won their last seven AIB League Division One meetings with Terenure. Shannon have won their last six with Blackrock College and UL Bohemians their last three with Galwegians.

Buccaneers are on a hat-trick of wins over Dolphin, as are UCD over Old Belvedere. Clontarf are on a hat-trick of home wins over Garryowen.


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

All-Time Ranking: 5th
2007/08 Finish: 11th in Div One
President: Dr. Syd Millar
Coach/Coaches: Jacques Benade
Captain: Ian Caldwell (lock)

Blackrock College
All-Time Ranking: 7th
2007/08 Finish: 5th in Div One
President: Larry Macken
Coach/Coaches: Barry Gibney, Emmet Farrell
Captain: Shane Byrne (hooker)

All-Time Ranking: 13th
2007/08 Finish: 1st in Div Two
President: Joe Cleary
Coach/Coaches: Tony Dolan, Jude Lennon
Captain: Niall O’Hara (full-back)

All-Time Ranking: 9th
2007/08 Finish: 4th in Div One
President: John Dinan
Coach/Coaches: Andy Wood, Simon Broughton
Captain: Daragh O’Shea (full-back/centre)

Cork Constitution
All-Time Ranking: 1st
2007/08 Finish: 1st in Div One
President: Brian Ludgate
Coach/Coaches: Brian Walsh, Terry Kingston
Captain: Brendan Cuttriss (flanker)

All-Time Ranking: 16th
2007/08 Finish: 6th in Div One
President: Mick O’Halloran
Coach/Coaches: David O’Mahony, Steve Ford
Captain: Dave Harty (lock)

All-Time Ranking: 8th
2007/08 Finish: 13th in Div One
President: Ian Brewster
Coach/Coaches: John Andrews, Jonny Bell
Captain: Michael Rainey (lock)

All-Time Ranking: 14th
2007/08 Finish: 14th in Div One
President: Mick Casserly
Coach/Coaches: Eamonn Molloy
Captain: Ivan Muldoon (back rower)

All-Time Ranking: Joint 2nd
2007/08 Finish: 3rd in Div One
President: John Noonan
Coach/Coaches: Dara O’Sullivan, Greig Oliver
Captain: Paul Neville (flanker)

Old Belvedere
All-Time Ranking: 15th
2007/08 Finish: 8th in Div One
President: Steve Tormey
Coach/Coaches: Phil Werahiko, Mark Kennedy
Captain: Richie Leyden (lock/back rower)

St. Mary’s College
All-Time Ranking: 4th
2007/08 Finish: 9th in Div One
President: Eoin Quinn
Coach/Coaches: Peter Smyth, Shaun McCarthy, Ciaran Potts
Captain: Philip Brophy (full-back/winger)

All-Time Ranking: Joint 2nd
2007/08 Finish: 2nd in Div One
President: Liam Costello
Coach/Coaches: Geoff Moylan, Gerry Casey, Colm Tucker Jnr
Captain: Fiach O’Loughlin (scrum half)

Terenure College
All-Time Ranking: 11th
2007/08 Finish: 12th in Div One
President: Joe Kelly
Coach/Coaches: Kevin West, James Blaney
Captain: Alex Dunlop (number 8)

All-Time Ranking: 17th
2007/08 Finish: 10th in Div One
President: Tom Kavanagh
Coach/Coaches: Bobby Byrne, Gary Coakley, Killian Keane
Captain: Michael Hastings (centre)

UL Bohemians
All-Time Ranking: 23rd
2007/08 Finish: 7th in Div One
President: Michael Goggin
Coach/Coaches: Ian Costello, Christy Neilan
Captain: Martin McPhail (winger)

Young Munster
All-Time Ranking: 12th
2007/08 Finish: 2nd in Div Two
President: Declan Edwards
Coach/Coaches: Mike Lynch, Mick O’Halloran
Captain: Derek Corcoran (winger)

To subscribe to the AIB League fixtures and results service, please text ON AIB to 53235; To unsubscribe, text STOP AIB to 53235.

Open to customers of O2, Vodafone and Meteor. Alerts cost 30c. Standard text rate to subscribe/unsubscribe.