Jump to main content


Hayes And Quinlan Included In Munster Side

Hayes And Quinlan Included In Munster Side

John Hayes and Alan Quinlan will return to competitive action for the first time this season when Munster take on the Cardiff Blues in the Magners League on Saturday night (Musgrave Park, kick-off 7.30pm).

Prop John Hayes has been named in Munster’s starting fifteen while Alan Quinlan has been selected on the replacements bench for the clash with the Blues.

Hayes was originally chosen to start against Edinburgh in Munster’s opening Magners League game, but cried off the morning of the game through illness.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Quinlan, meanwhile, is back fit again having recovered from a groin strain that ruled him out of Ireland’s summer tour to New Zealand and Australia.

In total, Munster coach Tony McGahan has made ten changes to the team he selected for last week’s bonus point win over the Dragons.

With his squad rotation in full force, McGahan has rested hat-trick hero Keith Earls and brought in Denis Hurley at full-back.

Rua Tipoki links up again with Lifeimi Mafi in midfield, with Barry Murphy dropping to the replacements bench, while experienced duo Ronan O’Gara and Peter Stringer have been selected at half-back.

There is a completely new front row unit in Tony Buckley, Jerry Flannery and the aforementioned Hayes.

Paul O’Connell returns in the second row to captain the side, with Donncha O’Callaghan making way.

And in the final switches, Niall Ronan and Justin Melck take over from John O’Sullivan and David Wallace in the back row. This will be the Cape Town-born Melck’s first competitive start in a Munster jersey.

Munster supporters are advised that Saturday’s game is a complete sell out, with no tickets available on the day.

MUNSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Denis Hurley; Doug Howlett, Lifeimi Mafi, Rua Tipoki, Ian Dowling; Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer; Tony Buckley, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Paul O’Connell (capt), Mick O’Driscoll, Donnacha Ryan, Niall Ronan, Justin Melck.

Replacements: Denis Fogarty, Federico Pucciariello, John O’Sullivan, Alan Quinlan, Mike Prendergast, Jeremy Manning, Barry Murphy.