Jump to main content



Draw Made For AIB Cup’s Opening Rounds

Draw Made For AIB Cup’s Opening Rounds

The draw for the first and second rounds of the AIB Cup were made at AIB Bankcentre in Dublin today with new Ireland coach Declan Kidney on hand to oversee the event. Defending champions Shannon have been drawn away to Blackrock College in a repeat of last season’s final.

The draw for the AIB Cup took place earlier today (Thursday) at AIB Bankcentre in Dublin. The knock-out cup competition brings together all 48 AIB League clubs from the four provinces.

The first round of the draw includes the 32 clubs from Divisions Two and Three of the AIB League. The winners of these ties will then go forward to the second round to play the 16 clubs from Division One of the AIB League.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The first round of the competition will be played on the weekend of September 27/28 and the second round will be played on the weekend of November 1/2.

The first round is notable for a number of local derbies, which are sure to sharpen the interest in the cup. Instonians were the first team to be drawn out, quickly followed by their Ulster rivals Rainey Old Boys.

One match in particular catches the eye – the second round meeting of Blackrock College and Shannon. These sides met in last season’s final at Dubarry Park and the rematch is sure to be a top game with the Dublin side going all out for revenge.

For photos from Thursday’s draw, please click here.


Match A: Instonians v Rainey Old Boys

Match B: Highfield v Sundays Well

Match C: Connemara v Barnhall

Match D: Bruff v Clonakilty

Match E: Malone v Queen’s University

Match F: UCC v Greystones

Match G: Nenagh Ormond v Lansdowne

Match H: Bective Rangers v Galway Corinthians

Match I: Midleton v Old Wesley

Match J: Dublin University v County Carlow

Match K: Old Crescent v DLSP

Match L: Belfast Harlequins v Banbridge

Match M: Naas v Ballynahinch

Match N: Wanderers v Thomond 

Match O: Ards v Suttonians

Match P: Waterpark v Portadown


St. Mary’s College v Cork Constitution

Winner O v Winner I

Winner G v Winner C

Winner H v Terenure

Galwegians v Winner B

Winner A v UCD

Dolphin v Winner E

Winner F v Winner P

Young Munster v Winner L

Winner M v Winner J

Winner K v Winner D

UL Bohemians v Dungannon

Blackrock College v Shannon

Garryowen v Winner N

Old Belvedere v Ballymena

Buccaneers v Clontarf