Jump to main content


Five Million in Grants For Rugby Clubs

Five Million in Grants For Rugby Clubs

Rugby Clubs and projects have benefitted to the tune of over 5 million in Government grants announced by Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism, Martin Cullen this week.

Martin Cullen, TD, Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism announced allocations totalling €;50 million to 682 separate sports projects around the country under the 2008 Sports Capital Programme. This Programme, which is part-funded by the National Lottery and administered by the Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism is the primary vehicle for Government support for the provision of sports facilities and equipment around the country.

The single biggest allocation for rugby went to the Munster Branch who received three million Euros towards the redevlopment of Thomond Park.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

AIB League runners up, Garryowen received EURO 200,000 while a number of junior clubs also benefitted including Ashbourne Rugby club who have invested heavily in their club facilities in the last few years.

Speaking in the Government Press Centre, Minister Cullen TD said: “Today’s allocations build upon the excellent work of previous rounds of the Programme and continue to support dedicated community spirit and reward local volunteerism. Every pitch that is laid, every changing room that is built and every piece of sport equipment bought, will allow more people to take part in a huge range of sports and help them to achieve their full potential in their chosen sport.”

The list of clubs to benefit under the scheme includes:

Tullow Rugby Football Club €;85,000 

Charleville Rugby Club €;50,000 

Dunmanway Rugby Football Club €;50,000 

Highfield Rugby Football Club €;100,000 

Kanturk Rugby Club  €;50,000 

De La Salle Palmerstown Football Club €;200,000 

Loughrea Rugby Football Club €;70,000 

Our Lady’s Boy Club Ltd €;120,000 

Newbridge Rugby Football Club €;270,000 

The North Kildare Club €;215,000 

Garryowen Rugby Football Club €;200,000 

Munster Branch Irish Rubgy Football Union €;3,000,000 

Longford Rugby Club €;80,000  

Dundalk Rugby Football Club €;100,000 

Ballina Rugby Football Club €;70,000 

Ballyhaunis Rugby Football Club €;30,000 

Ashbourne Rugby Football Club €;34,000

Tullamore Rugby Club €;60,000 

Cashel Rugby Football Club €;20,000 

Clanwilliam Football Club €;25,000 

Thurles R.F.C. €;2,000 

Waterford City Rugby Football Club €;60,000 

Mullingar Rugby Football Club €;120,000 

Gorey Rugby Football Club €;40,000 

Wexford Wanderers RFC €;50,000