Jump to main content


Phil Orr Joins Barbarians Committee

Phil Orr Joins Barbarians Committee

Barbarians President Micky Steele-Bodger confirmed today that Phil Orr, manager of the Ireland Under-20 Squad, had accepted an invitation to join the club committee. He fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Haydn Mainwaring.

Mickey Steele-Bodger said: “First of all I want to thank Haydn Mainwaring for his unstinting service on the committee over the past 18 years. He was a fine player in his day and has been equally loyal to our club in recent times.

“His invariably good humour and wise counsel made him the ideal companion at our various events and matches and as a valued committee man.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

He added: “We are equally fortunate to have Phil Orr available to join us. He, too, was an utterly dependable player over a ten-year period with the Barbarians and I am confident that he will have much to contribute as a committee member. I welcome him on board.”

Phil Orr played six matches for the Barbarians between 1977 and 1987, including fixtures against New Zealand and Australia. He won 58 caps for Ireland and was a double-British and Irish Lion in 1977 and 1980.

Orr said: “I have many happy memories of my playing days with the Barbarians with great rugby on the field and never a dull moment off it. It was also a special day for me when I was President of my home club, Old Wesley, in 1991 and the Barbarians came to play us as part of their own centenary celebrations.

“Now it is a great honour for me to serve on their committee and I am delighted to accept the invitation. I am convinced that the Barbarians still have a unique place in modern rugby and I will do everything I can to further their cause.

“I also look forward to working alongside several old friends from my playing and administrative days in the game. One example is John Jeffrey who was my opposite number last month at the IRB Under-20 World Championship. When Ireland played Scotland in their final matches we were the managers of our respective sides,” he added.

Orr joins a committee of 12. The full list is: Micky Steele-Bodger (President), Geoffrey Windsor-Lewis (Secretary), Gordon H Brown (Treasurer), Alan Evans (Registrar), Zinzan Brooke, Mike Burton, John Jeffrey, Syd Millar, Philip Orr, Jeff Probyn, Derek Quinnell and John Spencer.

The club’s fixtures for 2008/09 will include:

Tuesday, November 4, 2008 – The Remembrance Match v Combined Services (Plymouth)

Wednesday, December 3 – London Olympic Centenary Match v Australia (Wembley Stadium)

Wednesday, March 18, 2009 – Mobbs Memorial Match v Bedford Blues (Goldington Road)

Tuesday, April 7 – 150th Anniversary Match v Blackheath (Rectory Field)