Jump to main content


New Faces To Lead Shannon RFC

New Faces To Lead Shannon RFC

Shannon RFC recently held their annual general meeting to review the season and appoint officers for 2008/09. PRO Andrew McNamara gives us a report on the outcome.

A reconvened AGM of Shannon RFC completed the election of officers and other personnel to their executive committee after the initial nominations were suspended in order to facilitate a procedural error in the process.

To comply with club rules, a 14-day period prior to the AGM was required to ensure the nominations were deemed applicable and thus the reconvention took place last week.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

On the back of a successful season, the body of the meeting was reminded of the clubs annexing of the AIB Cup for the first time, the reclaiming of the Munster Senior Cup and second place position in AIB League Division One, which by any standards can be deemed a hugely successful season.

Allied to their seconds winning the Transfield Cup, the thirds winning the O’Carroll Plate and their underage sides winning numerous trophies, it was another year of triumph for the Parish side. 

Outgoing President Tommy Rowan highlighted this fact in his final role as club President when he handed over the reins to Liam Costello, a man whose association with Shannon began when he was 10 years-old and encompasses his entire family. 

The honour of becoming Shannon’s 76th President is one which is richly deserved by Liam whose involvement with Shannon has been ongoing as a player, coach and team manager for almost 40 years.

In his emotional acceptance speech, Liam highlighted his family’s role in the club over the years and made special mention of his late father Joe, who, like Liam, was a stalwart of Shannon RFC.

Dedicating his year in office to his father, Liam’s wish during his year in office is further success for Shannon both on and off the field. There os no doubt that Liam will bring decorum and pride to his role and an ethic of hard work. 

Another major change in Shannon’s executive line-up sees Jack Keane take up the onerous task of club Chairman after five years under the stewardship of Pat O’Connor.

Whilst stepping aside as Chairman, Pat O’Connor’s depth of knowledge and experience will not go untapped and he will remain a valuable member of Shannon’s Committee as incoming Junior Vice President.

In his five year tenure, Pat’s guidance of Shannon was exceptional and his affable approach to the continuing problems faced, not only by Shannon, but the entire club rugby community ensured Shannon maintained their status in the upper echelons of Irish rugby. 

As a long serving member of Shannon’s executive committee, Jack Keane brings a wealth of experience and his business acumen will ensure that Shannon RFC will continue to lead the way both on and off the field. His progression to Chairman is probably the model of how committee structures work in the club.

A native of County Leitrim, Limerick has been his place of work for a considerable time and his involvement with Shannon began 20 years ago when his sons began playing with the club.

He progressed through the ranks and became Chairman of underage and has held the role of executive officer prior to his accession to club Chairman.

His primary duties for the last number of years have been the development of the club’s successful corporate functions and other much needed methods of fundraising, a task for which the club are much the better for.

Jack’s previous role as executive officer was taken over by another long standing committee member Pat Downey. 

Treasurer Neil O’Carroll reported on the clubs finances and explained to the members about the ongoing developments in Coonagh and Thomond Park.

As usual the Treasurer’s report was comprehensive. Shannon RFC are very fortunate to have such a committed and dedicated man in Neil O’Carroll to oversee probably the most difficult job in the club.

There is no doubt that there are difficult times ahead, but Shannon could not be in more capable hands.

Congratulations were also offered to club members, Gerry O’Loughlin and Tony Wallace, both of whom served in their highest respective offices in the Munster Branch.

Tony was President of the Munster Association of Referees while Gerry served as President of the Munster Branch in another historic year for ‘Team Munster.’

Once again, a strong Shannon contingent played their part in that wonderful Heineken Cup victory and again congratulations were offered to all those involved as well as Trevor Hogan who won the Magners League with Leinster. 

The full election of Officers was as follows: President: Liam Costello; Vice President: Martin Clancy; Junior Vice President: Pat O’Connor; Chairman: Jack Keane; Hon Secretary: Tadgh Crowe; Hon. Asst. Secretary: Ger Mc Closkey; Treasurer: Neil O’Carroll; Asst. Treasurer: Tim O’Donoghue; Executive Officer: Pat Downey; PRO: Andrew McNamara; Fixtures Secretary; Gerry Ryan.