Jump to main content


Wins For Leinster And Ulster Juniors

Wins For Leinster And Ulster Juniors

Ulster, led by captain Peter Kelly, got their 2007/08 Junior interprovincial championship campaign off to a superb start on Saturday as they ran five tries past Connacht for a 36-5 win. Meanwhile, defending champions Munster slipped up at Malahide RFC, going down 18-10 to a hungry Leinster side.

Connacht were overpowered by 36-5 at Armagh RFC’s Palace Grounds with their only score a try from winger Kevin Corcoran from Westport. They were 14-5 behind at the break.

Ulster, with powerful ball carriers in the backs and forwards, ran the show in the second half with Limavady clubman John Semple impressing with a 16-point personal tally.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Semple converted four of Ulster’s touchdowns, including his own effort, and he also kicked a penalty. The hosts’ other tries came from number 8 Peter Corbett (2), centre Stephen Seymour and winger Richard Bunn.

Meanwhile, the Eoin Collins-captained Leinster got the better of Munster on the opening day of the championship, securing an 18-10 victory.

At the splendid Malahide RFC venue, Seapoint out-half Brian Keegan kicked six penalties as the hosts claimed a morale-boosting win.

Chasing an unprecedented third Grand Slam in a row in this competition, Munster got the game’s only try through St. Senan’s back rower Stephen Ryan, with out-half Eamon Ronan of Cobh Pirates kicking a conversion and a penalty.

In next Saturday’s second round games, Munster will entertain Ulster at Ballincollig RFC while Leinster are the visitors to Ballinasloe for Connacht’s one and only home match in the competition. Both games will kick off at 2.30pm.

For photos of the Ulster junior side’s win over Connacht at Armagh RFC, please click here.