Jump to main content


Ballincollig And Waterpark’s Women’s Sides Gear Up For Decider

Ballincollig And Waterpark’s Women’s Sides Gear Up For Decider

The Ballincollig v Waterpark clash is likely to be one of the most exciting Women’s Division Two finals in some years as the two Munster sides are on top of their game right now.

2007/08 IWRFU DIVISION TWO LEAGUE FINAL: Saturday, April 19


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

At the end of the regular season Ballincollig finished top and Waterpark second in their division and the two teams have played each other three times this year with the Cork team winning twice and Waterpark once.

This is Waterpark’s first ever league final and they come into the game in flying form having recently beaten first division outfit Galwegians to win the IWRFU Plate title and they were also impressive in their league semi-final win over St. Mary’s.

Team captain Clara Bracken, who featured at scrum half for Munster last season, said that her team is really looking forward to the game.

“We are really looking forward to this Saturday and we have seen huge improvements in the side since the beginning of the season.

“Winning the Plate final against Galwegians and beating a strong St. Mary’s side away in the semi-final has boosted our confidence.

“This team has a great mix of experience and new talent but we all have one thing in common – this is our first league final and the hunger is there, though needless to say we won’t be taking Ballincollig lightly,” she said.

Waterpark have a tough steely pack but they also pose a threat out wide with Bracken, as well as talented out-half Ger Kinnane, providing plenty of attacking flair.

Interestingly both sides will feature players who used to play for Clonakilty, the team who disappointingly folded at the end of last season.

Waterpark have Lisa Brick, who also featured for Tralee earlier this season, in their back-line, while Ballincollig are likely to have talented players such as Karen Fitzpatrick, Denise Jennings and Aoife Deasy in their line-up.

Ballincollig are coached this season by Munster boss Donal O’Driscoll and they have flourished this year with a strong squad.

O’Driscoll has plenty of experience in women’s rugby finals having led Highfield for the past number of years to numerous cup finals as well as a Division One league final last year.

He said that his Ballincollig side are delighted to be in a league final.

“Back in August when we started pre-season training we would have grabbed a spot in the final with both hands, particularly after the disappointments of the previous season,” he admitted.

“But after all the hard work, effort and commitment that has been put in, we definitely want to finish the season on a high. We have had some very competitive and close games with Waterpark this season and the final undoubtedly has the potential to be a real cracker of a match.”

Waterpark squad

Forwards: Angeline Kiely, Deirdre Murphy, Dee Purcell, Dee Upton, Jo O’Meara, Sinead Fitzpatrick, Iris Condon, Wendy O’Keefe, Orlaith Buckley, Marie Peters, Kate Hitchen, Louise Landers.

Backs: Clara Bracken (capt), Lisa Brick, Kate Canty, Evelyn Quigley, Fiona Lyng, Aine Lordon, Emer Larkin, Sarah Mullins, Nicola Scully, Ger Kinane,Sheila McGrath, Sine O’Connor, Helen McGrath, Sarah Gleeson.

Coaches: Andy Torrie, Pat Breen (forwards), Matt Chau (backs), David Drohan (fitness).

Ballincollig squad

Karen Buckley, Joanne Browne, Trish Drinan, Geraldine Gallahue, Anna Healy, Linda Holland, Denise Jennings, Linda Kennedy, Audrey McSweeney, Marguerite Murphy, Ciara Prendergast, Francis Whooley, Adele Stevenson (capt), Gemma Crowley, Aoife Deasy, Davina Fenton, Karen Fitzpatrick, Anne-Marie Kelly, Claire McCarthy, Theresa Nolan, Lillian Whooley.