Jump to main content


Wales And Italy Name Teams For Mardyke Match

Wales And Italy Name Teams For Mardyke Match

Wales and Italy have named their sides for Saturday’s Under-18 Six Nations Festival encounter at the Mardyke (kick-off 2.30pm).

Wales are on the hunt for their second win of the Festival having beaten Ireland in a fine performance in their first game, while Italy are looking for improvement after a heavy loss to England.

The Italians have named a much changed side from the team that played that first game. In the pack, an entirely new front row has been put together while there are also changes in the second and back row.

Italy’s back-line also shows some changes and Michele Mortali, the winger who impressed against England, shifts to full-back with Marcello Paglia dropping to the replacements bench and Sebastien Rodwell and Nicola Belardo coming onto the wings. 

Italian manager Francesco Cavatorti said that he hoped the changes would see Italy put in a much better performance this weekend.

“After a bad display against England we have made a lot of changes and we hope we can prove to be a much better side this Saturday. The boys have worked hard since that game and they are ready to display a better attitude and more focus and commitment against Wales,” he said.

Wales too have made a raft of changes with nine new players coming into the starting line-up.

Neither Joel Galley or Ben John have recovered from knocks they picked up in the game against Ireland but manager Terry Cobner said that the team to play Italy is a strong one.

“We made a lot of changes because we have a good squad and we have faith in the ability of all of these players. We expect a tough physical game from Italy as always and we’re looking forward to Saturday,” he admitted.

The Welsh side will be captained by Dragons youngster James Thomas, who will start at number 8.

ITALY UNDER-18 TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Wales U-18, 2008 U-18 Six Nations Festival, Saturday, March 29, The Mardyke, UCC, kick-off 2.30pm):

15 – Michele Mortali (Gran Parma Rugby)

14 – Sebastian Rodwell (Firenze)

13 – Ricciardi Costantino (Petrarca)

12 – Tommaso Benvenuti (Viadana)

11 – Nicola Belardo (Partenope)

10 – Fillippo Michelini (Viadana)

9 – Alberto Chillon (Petrarca)

1 – Matteo Zamparo (Amatori San Dona)

2 – Andrea Manici (Gran Parma)

3 – Edoardo Carugi (Firenze)

4 – Fillipo Cazzola (Montebelluna)

5 – Paolo Stinchello (SSD Unione Capitolina)

6 – Fillppo Ferrarini (Noceto FC)

7 – Gabriele Cicchinelli (SSD Unione Capitolina)

8 – Lorenzo Santelli (ASD Universita Cosenza) (capt)


16 – Enrico Lioineri (Ruggers Tarvisum)

17 – Nicola Corbanese (Ruggers Tarvisum)

18 – Antonio Denti (Viadana)

19 – Daniele Fratalochhi (Sambendettese)

20 – Marco Barbino (Petraca)

21 – Tommaso Bergonzini (Viadana)

22 – Edoardo Gori (Cavalieri)

23 – Giovanno Frapporti (Valpolicella)

24 – Francesco Lenzi (Cavalieri)

25 – Giovanbattista Venditti (SSD Unione Capitolina)

26 – Marcello Paglia (Rugby Noceto FC)


15 – James Loxton (Blues)

14 – Liam Powell (Exiles)

13 – Scott Williams (Scarlets)

12 – Ashley Beck (Ospreys)

11 – Adam Hughes (Dragons)

10 – Chris Lewis Pratt (Exiles)

9 – Gareth Davies (Scarlets)

1 – Gareth Jenkins (Ospreys)

2 – Ceri Davies (Ospreys)

3 – Stewart Maguire (Dragons)

4 – Lloyd Peers (Ospreys)

5 – James King (Scarlets)

6 – Morgan Allan (Ospreys)

7 – James Davies (Scarlets)

8 – James Thomas (Dragons) (capt)


16 – Ieuan Coombes (Dragons)

17 – Matthew Jarvis (Ospreys)

18 – Rhys Downes (Blues)

19 – Daniel Watchurst (Dragons)

20 – Rhys Williams (Blues)

21 – Tom Crandon (Dragons)

22 – Dave Francis (Dragons)

23 – Rhys Jenkins (Dragons)