Jump to main content


Scotland and France Ready For Opening Clash

Scotland and France Ready For Opening Clash

Scotland and France will become the first international teams to play at the grounds of Cork Institute of Technology when they kick off their Under-18 Six Nations Festival fixtures tomorrow at 5pm.

Scotland have been preparing in earnest for the 2008 Under-18 Six Nations Festival with games against Italy, Wales and England ‘A’ in recent weeks.

Having won two of those games, they come into the Festival in good form and manager Euan Kennedy said the squad are very much looking forward to their opening game.

“We travelled to France last year and won and it was the first time we had done that on French soil in a long time so we are looking forward to this as our first fixture,” Kennedy said.

France too will be aiming to get off to a winning start having warmed up for the Festival with some friendly games against touring European teams in recent months. They are expected to have a solid pack and pose a big threat out wide.

SCOTLAND UNDER-18 TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v France, 2008 Under-18 Six Nations Festival, Cork Institute of Technology, Wednesday, March 26, kick-off 5pm): 

15 – Sam Hughes (Merchiston Castle School)

14 – Max Learmonth (Berwick)

13 – Michael Tait (Kelso Quins)

12 – Alec Dunbar (Annan)

11 – Jamie Harris (Merchiston Castle School)

10 – Alex Blair (Edinburgh Academy)

9 – Russell Weir (Merchiston Castle School)

1 – Craig Owenson (Musselburgh)

2 – Mungo Strachan (Fettes College)

3 – Andrew Fraser (York)

4 – Grant Gilchrist (Stirling County)

5 – Robert Harley (West of Scotland)

6 – Stuart McInally (George Watsons College) (capt)

7 – Ross Sutherland (Sandbach)

8 – Jason Hill (Stirling County)


16 – Alun Walker (Musselburgh)

17 – Luke Pettie (Gala Wanderers)

18 – Nicky Little (Hawick)

19 – Calum Connor (Bradford Grammar)

20 – Michael Maltman (Musselburgh)

21 – Michael Fedo (Bell Baxter / Howe of Fife)

22 – Alex Black (Prince Henrys School)

23 – Ross Aitken (Bell Baxter / Howe of Fife)

24 – Rory Drummond (Bell Baxter / Howe of Fife)

25 – Seeumas MacKenzie (Murrayfield Wanderers)


David Tarroque, Baptiste Gay, Adrien Alazard, Teddy Iribaren, (all Toulouse), Anthony Maury (Montferrand), Mickael Ivaldi, Sonny Falconetti (both Toulon). Kevin Legeun, Adrein Gach, Amaury Geneste (all Begles). Paul Oliver (Beziers), Victor Muret, Julien Petrod (both Bourgoin), Sullivan Guyon (Orleans), Joris Archimbeau (Montpellier), Florent Brunet, Gilles Arnaudies, Joran Salgues (all Perpignan), Antoine Erbano (Agen), Julien Cabannes (Mont de Marsan), Clement Baldy (La Reunion), Raphael Eymond, Lucas DuPoint (Grenoble), Adrien Domec (Biarritz), Camille Canivet (La Rochelle), Valentin Tourenne (Brive).