Jump to main content


Best Returns To Captain Ulster

Best Returns To Captain Ulster

Ulster coach Matt Williams has announced a 22-man squad from which he will select the province’s team to take on Munster in Saturday’s Magners League derby tie at Musgrave Park (kick-off 7.30pm).

Matt Williams has made full use of his returning international players with Ireland hooker Rory Best returning to captain the side.

Tommy Bowe, Paddy Wallace and Andrew Trimble, three more of Ireland’s Six Nations squad, will all be hoping to line up against their Irish team-mates in Cork.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Italian lock Carlo Del Fava is named in Ulster’s panel having recovered well from a knee injury which he picked up during the Azzurri’s victory over Scotland in the Six Nations last weekend.

Also hoping to return from injury will be Rob Dewey who has been out with a knee injury for a number of weeks. His fellow Scottish international Simon Danielli is not named in the squad after injurying his ankle against Italy. The winger is currently being assessed by the Ulster Rugby medical team.

Ulster’s next home match will see them face Connacht on Friday, April 11. Tickets for that game are on sale now and are available from the Ulster Rugby website, the Ravenhill ticket office, the ticket line (02890493222 Option 2) from 10am to 12noon, online and from all the usual ticket outlets dotted around the province.

ULSTER Squad (v Munster): Backs (10) – Isaac Boss, Rob Dewey, Mark McCrea, Paul Marshall, Niall O’Connor, Mark Bartholomeusz, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble, Tommy Bowe, Bryn Cunningham.

Forwards (12) – Justin Fitzpatrick, Rory Best (capt), Tom Court, Ryan Caldwell, Carlo Del Fava, Neil Best, David Pollock, Stephen Ferris, Nigel Brady, Bryan Young, Justin Harrison, Matt McCullough.