Jump to main content



Ireland To Wait On Full-Back

Ireland To Wait On Full-Back

Ireland have left a vacancy at full-back for Saturday’s Six Nations clash with Wales as Girvan Dempsey and Geordan Murphy recover from injury, while Paul O’Connell and Rory Best both return to the starting line-up.

Second row Paul O’Connell and hooker Rory Best have both been promoted to the Ireland team for Saturday’s encounter with Wales, having come on as replacements last time out in the win over Scotland.

Both O’Connell and Best played in the second half of that game Croke Park and the players that they replaced – Mick O’Driscoll and Bernard Jackman – have moved to the replacements bench for the Welsh tie.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

A vacancy has been left at full-back as Geordan Murphy and Girvan Dempsey are recovering from Achilles tendon and hip injuries respectively at this time. A decision on who will be selected at full-back will be made following training on Thursday.

Commenting on the duo and their injuries, Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan said: “Girvan and Geordan are both struggling at the moment. They are nip and tuck in terms of fitness and will be given until Thursday before we decide if they are ready.

“Geordan didn’t train today. He started the game at the weekend for Leicester but had to come off. Girvan took part in training today. He did run but he’s not there yet. Both are doubtful.”

IRELAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Wales, 2008 RBS 6 Nations, Croke Park, Saturday, March 8, kick-off 1.15pm local time):

15 – AN Other

14 – Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 11

13 – Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) 82 (capt)

12 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 22

11 – Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 4

10 – Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster) 80

9 – Eoin Reddan (London Wasps) 8   

1 – Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster) 54  

2 – Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 20

3 – John Hayes (Bruff/Munster) 82  

4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 43

5 –  Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 50

6 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster) 30  

7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster) 44 

8 – Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster) 6


16 – Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster) 7
17 – Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster) 5

18 – Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster) 14

19 – Simon Easterby (Llanelli Scarlets) 64

20 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster) 81

21 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster) 7

22 – Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster) 59

Not Considered

Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster) {hamstring}
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) {arm}