Jump to main content


O’Driscoll OK, Dempsey Ruled Out

O’Driscoll OK, Dempsey Ruled Out

Girvan Dempsey has been ruled out of the RBS 6 Nations game against Scotland tomorrow. He is replaced by Geordan Murphy. Meanwhile, Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll came through a fitness test this morning and will play.

Ireland full-back Girvan Dempsey, who picked up an injury to his left hip in training this week, has failed to recover sufficiently this morning and has been ruled out of the RBS 6 Nations championship game against Scotland tomorrow. His place will be taken by Geordan Murphy.

Murphy was not named in the original starting 22 but was called back in to camp as cover when Dempsey picked up the injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll came through a fitness test on the calf strain he picked up earlier in the week. Luke Fitzgerald had been called up from the Ireland ‘A’ side as a precaution. O’Driscoll took a full part in training this morning and passed his fitness test.

Meanwhile, prop Tony Buckley came through a session earlier in the week and also a full fitness test and has been confirmed as being fit to take his position amongst the replacements for the Scotland game.

IRELAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Scotland, 2008 RBS 6 Nations, Croke Park, Saturday, February 23, kick-off 5pm local time):

15 – Gerodan Murphy (Leicester Tigers) 54


14 – Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 10


13 – Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) 81 (capt)


12 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 21 


11 – Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 3


10 – Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster) 79


9 – Eoin Reddan (London Wasps) 7    

1 – Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster) 53  


2 – Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster) 6


3 – John Hayes (Bruff/Munster) 81  


4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 42


5 – Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13


6 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster) 29  


7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster) 43 


8 – Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster) 5


16 – Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 19

17 – Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster) 4

18 – Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 49

19 – Simon Easterby (Llanelli Scarlets) 63 

20 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster) 80 

21 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster) 6

22 – Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster) 58
Not Considered:

Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster) {wrist}
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) {arm}