Jump to main content



Two Changes For Ireland

Two Changes For Ireland

There are two changes to the Ireland starting line-up for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations clash with Scotland at Croke Park (kick-off 5pm).

Ulster winger Tommy Bowe and Munster second row Mick O’Driscoll are the two changes that Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan has made to the side that lost 26-21 to France two Saturdays ago.

Bowe is named on the right wing in place of Geordan Murphy in a back-line that will see Ronan O’Gara win his 80th cap.

Mick O’Driscoll comes into the side in place of Malcolm O’Kelly. The other change to the matchday squad sees O’Driscoll’s Munster colleague Paul O’Connell named on the replacements bench. Fighting fit after a lengthy back injury, O’Connell will earn his 50th cap if he gets some game-time.

There is one injury concern in the squad. Prop Tony Buckley injured the thumb playing for Munster in the Magners League at the weekend and while X-rays have not shown any fracture, Buckley will undergo a fitness test at the end of the week.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Bryan Young has been called into the squad and will remain with the squad as cover for Buckley should he not be passed fit.

Brian O’Driscoll’s calf also tightened up during training this morning, so Luke Fitzgerald, who was originally selected in the ‘A’ team to play Scotland ‘A’, will remain with the senior squad as a precaution.

IRELAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Scotland, 2008 RBS 6 Nations, Croke Park, Saturday, February 23, kick-off 5pm local time):

15 – Girvan Dempsey (Terenure College/Leinster) 80


14 – Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 10


13 – Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) 81 (capt)


12 – Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 21 


11 – Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 3


10 – Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster) 79


9 – Eoin Reddan (London Wasps) 7    

1 – Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster) 53  


2 – Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster) 6


3 – John Hayes (Bruff/Munster) 81  


4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 42


5 – Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13


6 – Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster) 29  


7 – David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster) 43 


8 – Jamie Heaslip (Clontarf/Leinster) 5


16 – Rory Best (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 19

17 – Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster) 4

18 – Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster) 49

19 – Simon Easterby (Llanelli Scarlets) 63 

20 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster) 80 

21 – Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster) 6

22 – Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster) 58
Not Considered:

Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster) {wrist}
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) {arm}