Jump to main content


Irish Colleges Team Announcement

Irish Colleges Team Announcement

The Irish Colleges, sponsored by Treasury Holdings, will take on an England Under-23 Combined Services side in Sunbury on Friday.

The Irish Colleges team, comprising of University and Colleges players from the four provinces, make the journey to the London Irish Amateur Club, Sunbury on Friday to play the England Combined Services Under-23 representative side (kick-off 7pm).

This is the first Irish Colleges International match of 2008. The game on Friday evening is the return leg of the first meeting between the two rugby bodies which had its inaugural match at the Suttonians club on February 23 of last year, prior to the Ireland v England international at Croke Park.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In preparation for this game, the Irish Colleges had a friendly against the Ireland Under-19s in late December with the final score 13-12 in favour of the Under-19s.

Additional international matches are planned for February 22 and March 14 against the Scottish Universities and English Students respectively.

Irish Colleges XV:

Ed Torrie (University of Limerick/UL Bohemians)
Sean Carey (NUI Galway/Buccaneers)
Paddy O’Toole (Garda/Connemara)
Mick O’Shea (Garda/Suttonians)
Darragh Fanning (IT Tallaght/St. Mary’s College RFC)
Phil De Barra (IT Carlow/De La Salle Palmerston)
Brendan O’Brien (Blackhall Place/Wanderers)
Shane Cahill (Dun Laoghaire VEC/Blackrock College RFC)
Alex O’Sullivan (Inst Art Design Tech Dun Laoghaire/Greystones)
Stephen Snell (National College of Ireland/Greystones)
Barry Holmes (Dublin Institute of Technology/Greystones)
Chris Napier (Belfast Metropolitan College/Ballynahinch)
Ian Cullinan (NUI Galway/Galwegians)
Dan Kenny (Dun Laoghaire VEC/Greystones)
Hugh Hogan (Griffith College Dublin/St. Mary’s College RFC)


Jason Taggart (University of Ulster Jordanstown/Ballymena)
Richard O’Neill (IT Tallaght/Terenure College RFC)
Jonathan Molloy (IT Tallaght/St. Mary’s College RFC)
Brian Collins (IT Blanchardstown/Old Belvedere)
Ben Reilly (Dublin City University/Suttonians)
Michael McKeever (University of Ulster Jordanstown/Instonians)
Brian Moroney (IT Tallaght/Terenure College RFC)
Colum Murphy (Cork Institute of Technology/Cork Constitution)
Damien Carley (IT Carlow/County Carlow)