Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Georgia Make Wholesale Changes

Georgia Make Wholesale Changes

Georgia have made a total of eleven changes to the team that lost 33-3 to Argentina for Saturday’s World Cup Pool D showdown with Ireland (Stade Chaban Delmas, kick-off 9pm local time).

The Georgian coach Malkhaz Tcheishvili has freshened up his starting line-up, with his team forced to play just four days after their tournament opener against Argentina.

Lock Ilia Zedginidze, who plays his club rugby for French club Auch, will captain the side as one of only four survivors from the starting fifteen for the clash with the Pumas.

The majority of the Georgian selection play their rugby in France and are sure to gain the vocal support of the Bordeaux public given their underdog status.

The only back that Tcheishvili has retained is highly regarded number 10 Merab Kvirikashvili, who plays for Pau.

“The schedule is very uncomfortable for us and we didn’t choose it,” said Tcheishvili, whose hand has been undoubtedly forced by the fixture planning.

“But we have prepared for this by planning to use our squad as much as possible. It’s difficult but there is nothing we can do about it, we have to face the challenge.

“We don’t see it like the bigger teams get treated better than the smaller ones, it’s just the way it,” added the former Soviet Union and Georgia scrum half.

Reflecting the buoyant mood in the Georgian camp after their impressive display against Argentina, prop Mamuka Magrakvelidze said: “I can’t wait to play Ireland, because I never have. I know their culture and their rugby style. It’s physical, interesting and clever. To play them will be a great experience for myself and the team.”

Georgia have played Ireland twice previously at Test level, losing both games by 70-0 (1998) and 63-14 (2002).

GEORGIA TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Ireland, Stade Chaban Delmas, Bordeaux, Saturday, September 15, 2007, 9pm local time):

15 – Otar Barkalaia
14 – Giorgi Elizbarashvili
13 – Revaz Gigauri
12 – Davit Kacharava
11 – Giorgi Shkinin
10 – Merab Kvirikashvili
9 – Bidzina Samkharadze
1 – Mamuka Magrakvelidze
2 – Goderdzi Shvelidze
3 – Avtandil Kopaliani
4 – Ilia Zedginidze (capt)
5 – Mamuka Gorgodze
6 – Ilia Maisuradze
7 – Rati Urushadze
8 – Giorgi Chkhaidze


16 – Akvsenti Giorgadze
17 – David Khinchagashvili
18 – Levan Datunashvili
19 – Zviad Maisuradze
20 – Irakli Abuseridze
21 – Malkhaz Urjukashvili
22 – Otar Eloshvili