Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Ireland Team To Play Scotland

Ireland Team To Play Scotland

Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan has named his team to play Scotland this Saturday in the first of two warm-up games in preparation for the Rugby World Cup. As expected, much of the side is drawn from the summer tour squad.

Geordan Murphy, Brian Carney, Gavin Duffy, Tommy Bowe, Paddy Wallace and Isaac Boss, who all featured during the summer tour to Argentina, are named in a back-line that sees the return of captain Brian O’Driscoll in the centre for his first game since last season’s RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Paul O’Connell also returns to the second row alongside Ireland’s most capped player Malcolm O’Kelly, while the seven other members of the pack for the Scottish game also featured in the two-match Test series against Argentina. Simon Best, Jerry Flannery and Bryan Young renew their front row partnership.

Commenting on his selection, O’Sullivan said: “This is more than a warm-up match for the World Cup, for some it’s a one-off game before the squad is selected. Some may not have expected (Paul) O’Connell and (Brian) O’Driscoll to start but they need to get on the pitch.

“Brian has not played since March and Paul has played just twice since then so it’s important to get them on. We’ll bring some players off the bench and give them the chance to play.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We’re trying to get access to areas of the team that we need more information about. At the moment it’s the back row that is causing the greatest headache.”

IRELAND TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Scotland, Murrayfield, Saturday, August 11, kick-off 2.30pm):

Player / Club / Caps
15 – Geordan Murphy  Leicester   (48)
14 – Brian Carney   Clonakilty/Munster  (2)
13 – Brian O’Driscoll Captain  UCD/Leinster  (74)
12 – Gavin Duffy   Galwegians/Connacht (6)
11 – Tommy Bowe   Belfast Harlequins/Ulster (9)
10 – Paddy Wallace   Ballymena/Ulster  (4)
9 – Isaac Boss   Ballymena/Ulster  (8)

1 – Bryan Young   Ballymena/Ulster  (7)
2 – Jerry Flannery   Shannon/Munster  (15)
3 – Simon Best   Belfast Harlequins/Ulster (18)
4 – Malcolm O’Kelly   St.Mary’s College/Leinster (85) 
5 – Paul O’Connell   Young Munster/Munster (43)
6 – Neil Best   Belfast Harlequins/Ulster (12)
7 – Stephen Ferris   Dungannon/Ulster  (3)
8 – Jamie Heaslip   Clontarf/Leinster  (2)

16 – Rory Best   Belfast Harlequins/Ulster (12)
17 – John Hayes   Bruff/Munster  (73) 
18 – Alan Quinlan   Shannon/Munster  (24)
19 – Keith Gleeson   St.Mary’s College/Leinster (26)
20 – Eoin Reddan   Wasps   (2)
21 – Ronan O’Gara   Cork Constitution/Munster (71) 
22 – Shane Horgan   Lansdowne/Leinster (55)