Jump to main content


2007/08 Magners League Fixtures Are Confirmed

2007/08 Magners League Fixtures Are Confirmed

All four Irish provinces will open the new Magners League season with home matches following today’s release of the 2007/08 league fixtures.

Celtic Rugby have confirmed that the first full round of the Magners League will take place on the weekend of September 21-23 with defending champions Ospreys travelling to Belfast to take on former champions Ulster.

Also that weekend, last season’s title contenders Leinster mark the opening of their 2007/08 campaign at their new temporary home ground – the RDS – with the visit of Edinburgh Rugby.

The full first round of matches is as follow:

Cardiff Blues v Glasgow Warriors
Connacht v Newport Gwent Dragons
Leinster v Edinburgh
Munster v Llanelli Scarlets
Ulster v Ospreys

There will be four mouth-watering all Welsh encounters before this date to avoid the Welsh regions having to play midweek fixtures later in this Rugby World Cup season.

The 2007/8 Magners League will conclude with final round being played on the weekend of May 10, and, as in previous years, the fixtures have been scheduled so as to avoid a clash with the RBS Six Nations Championship.

Celtic Rugby Director David Jordan said: “We saw record attendances at Magners League games last season, with many fixtures selling out, and we will be hoping to build on that success. With qualification for the Heineken Cup at stake every game is meaningful to the teams concerned and, as we have seen over the last couple of years, the championship decider can go right down to the last day of the season.”

Maurice Breen, Marketing Director of WM Magner Ltd, added: “Following the successful inaugural season of the Magners League, the fixture list for 2007/2008 has lined up what promises to be another season of sell-out, exciting and competitive matches which will continue to showcase the fantastic brand of rugby played in the Magners League – something we very much look forward to.”

The full Magners League fixture list is available here. The dates and kick-off times of individual matches will be confirmed as soon as known.