Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

O’Connell Helps Launch Setanta’s World Cup Coverage

O’Connell Helps Launch Setanta’s World Cup Coverage

Paul O’Connell was on hand at Old Belvedere RFC in Dublin on Friday to help launch Setanta Sports’ coverage of the 2007 Rugby World Cup, which will see the Irish sports channel cover all 48 of the tournament’s matches live.

O’Connell, the Munster and Ireland lock who is Setanta’s Rugby Ambassador, was joined at the Anglesea Road venue by presenters Daire O’Brien and Paul Dempsey and rugby commentators Fred Cogley and Connor Morris to announce details of Setanta’s RWC coverage.

Setanta’s commentary and analysis team for the Rugby World Cup will also include Ciaran Fitzgerald, Matt Williams, Donal Lenihan, Liam Toland, Neil Francis, Mark Robson, Nigel Starmer Smith and Emmet Byrne.

Ciaran Fitzgerald, the former Ireland and Lions captain, and Matt Williams, who previously coached Leinster and Scotland, are new additions to the Setanta line-up.

Both will join Daire O’Brien and Paul Dempsey for studio discussion and match build-up alongside Setanta’s more regular rugby contributors which include Donal Lenihan, Liam Toland, Neil Francis and Emmet Byrne.

“We are delighted to have secured such an expert line-up for our coverage of the Rugby World Cup,” said Setanta Ireland CEO Niall Cogley.

“Rugby continues to grow in popularity in Ireland and we are looking forward to bringing top quality coverage of this world event to Irish sports fans. We will broadcast all 48 games live and have put a team in place that can give genuine insight into the tournament and make the Rugby World Cup more enjoyable for Setanta viewers.”

Coverage of the 2007 Rugby World Cup will begin on Setanta Sports on Friday, September 7 when host nation France face Argentina at the St. Denis Stadium. Ireland’s first game, which is against Namibia, will be broadcast live by Setanta on Sunday, September 9 on Setanta.


Friday, September 7: France v Argentina, 8pm

Saturday, September 8: New Zealand v Italy, 12.45pm; Australia v Japan, 2.45pm; England v USA, 5pm

Sunday, September 9: Wales v Canada, 1pm; South Africa v Samoa, 3pm; Scotland v Portugal, 5pm; IRELAND v Namibia, 7pm

Tuesday, September 11: Argentina v Georgia, 7pm
Wednesday, September 12: USA v Tonga, 1pm; Japan v Fiji, 5pm; Italy v Romania, 7pm

Friday, September 14: England v South Africa, 8pm

Saturday, September 15: New Zealand v Portugal, 12pm; Wales v Australia, 2pm; IRELAND v Georgia, 8pm

Sunday, September 16: Fiji v Canada, 1pm; Samoa v Tonga, 3pm; France v Namibia, 8pm

Tuesday, September 18: Scotland v Romania, 8pm

Wednesday, September 19: Italy v Portugal, 7pm

Thursday, September 20: Wales v Japan, 8pm

Friday, September 21: France v IRELAND, 8pm
Saturday, September 22: South Africa v Tonga, 1pm; England v Samoa, 3pm; Argentina v Namibia, 8pm

Sunday, September 23: Australia v Fiji, 1.30pm; Scotland v New Zealand, 4pm

Tuesday, September 25: Canada v Japan, 5pm; Romanian v Portugal, 7pm

Wednesday, September 26: Georgia v Namibia, 5pm; Samoa v USA, 7pm
Friday, Septembr 28: England v Tonga, 8pm

Saturday, September 29: New Zealand v Romania, 12pm; Australia v Canada, 2pm; Wales v Fiji, 4pm; Scotland v Italy, 8pm
Sunday, September 30: France v Georgia, 2pm; IRELAND v Argentina, 4pm; South Africa v USA, 7pm

Saturday, October 6: Quarter-final 1 – Winner Pool B v Runners Up Pool A, 2pm; Quarter-final 2 – Winners Pool C v Runners Up Pool D, 8pm

Sunday, October 7: Quarter-final 3 – Winners Pool A v Runners Up Pool B, 2pm; Quarter-final 4 – Winners Pool D v Runners Up Pool C, 8pm

Saturday, October 13: Semi-final 1 – Winners QF1 v Winners QF2, 8pm

Sunday, October 14: Semi-final 2 – Winners QF3 v Winners QF4, 8pm

Friday, October 19: 3rd place play-off, 8pm

Satuday, October 20: World Cup final, 8pm