Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Pumas Name Squad For Summer Tests

Pumas Name Squad For Summer Tests

Leinster’s Felipe Contepomi is one of 35 European-based players that have been named in an extended Argentina squad for summer Tests against Ireland (May 26 and June 2) and Italy (June 9).

Contepomi and his twin brother Manuel, who is currently on the books of Italian club Rovigo, have both been included by Argentinian coach Marcelo Loffreda, who is due to take over at English side Leicester Tigers in October.

The Pumas, who will face a World Cup encounter with Ireland in September, start their summer schedule with two Test matches against Eddie O’Sullivan’s men in Santa Fe and Buenos Aires. They will also clash with Italy in Mendoza on June 9.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Irish Test matches will have a 4.10pm local time kick-off – 8.10pm Irish time. Television coverage of both fixtures is yet to be confirmed.

ARGENTINA SQUAD (summer Tests v Ireland and Italy): Mario Ledesma, Gonzalo Longo, Martin Scelzo (all Clermont Auvergne), Jaime Arocena, Alberto Vernet Basualdo (both Alumni), Nicolas Fernandez Miranda (Bayonne), Marcelo Bosch, Manuel Carizza, Gaston De Robertis, Martin Gaitan (all Biarritz), Bernardo Stortoni (Bristol Shoguns), Pablo Gambarini, Esteban Lozada (both CASI), Santiago Gonzalez Bonorino (Capitolina), Genaro Fessia (Cordoba Athletic), Lucio Lopez Fleming (Edinburgh), Franciscio Leonelli Morey (Glasgow Warriors), Horacio Agulla, Juan de la Cruz Fernandez Miranda, Hernan Senillosa (all Hindu), Nicolas Vergallo (Jockey Club), Martin Schusterman (Leeds Tykes), Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers), Felipe Contepomi (Leinster), Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Gonzalo Tiesi (both London Irish), Pablo Henn (Montauban), Martin Durand, Federico Todeschini (both Montpellier), Rimas Alvarez Kairelis (Perpignan), Manuel Contepomi (Rovigo), Federico Serra Miras (SIC), Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (both Sale Sharks), Tomas De Vedia (Saracens), Eusebio Guinazu, Lucas Ostiglia (both Agen), Lucas Borges, Ignacio Corleto, Juan Martin Hernandez, Agustin Pichot, Rodrigo Roncero (all Stade Francais), Patricio Albacete, Omar Hasan (both Toulouse), Miguel Avramovic (Worcester Warriors).