Jump to main content



AIB Junior Cup: Focus On Seapoint

AIB Junior Cup: Focus On Seapoint

Seapoint have become something of a cup specialist side in the last few seasons. IrishRugby.ie takes a closer look at the Dublin club ahead of their AIB Junior Cup final with Coleraine on Saturday.

Seapoint LogoCup specialists? Seapoint won the Dublin Metro Cup in 2005 and 2006 and have won three out of the last six Spencer Cups (for Junior clubs in Dublin) and lost out in the semi-final of this competition last season to eventual winners Rainey Old Boys.

They finished in second place in the Leinster League Division One, having lost only three games. They lost out to Clontarf in the quarter-finals of this season’s Metro Cup – their first home lost in competition in eighteen months.

They had four representatives on the Leinster Junior team last season – Sam Boazman, Declan Griffin, JP Finlay and Jonathan Walsh.

Felix JonesSeapoint’s star is on the rise, not least thanks to the presence of one of their players in the Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam-winning team.

Felix Jones came into the starting XV of the Under-20s  following an injury to Luke Fitzgerald, and he quickly set about establishing his place against all comers with two tries in the opening game against Wales.

Felix’s success is testament to the strength of youth rugby in Seapoint. They field sides from Under-7 to Under-18 levels and they are planning to bring a big contingent to Dubarry Park on Saturday to cheer on the first XV.

With the exception of three players, the squad are all natives of South East County Dublin.

Road To The Final –

First Round, Saturday, December 16, 2006

Home to Monkstown, Won 20-13

Tries: Stephen Walsh, Des Doyle; Cons: Declan Griffin 2; Pens: Declan Griffin 2

Quarter-Final,  Saturday, February 3, 2007

Home to Limavady, Won 36-20

Tries: Ben Focas 3, Carl Dechenu 2, Jonny Walsh  ; Cons: Brian Keegan 3

Semi-Final, Saturday March 17, 2007

Away to Crosshaven, Won 15-8

Tries: Stephen Walsh, Ben Focas; Con: Brian Keegan; Pen: Brian Keegan


Management –

President: Jim Breen
Captain: Jonny Walsh
Coach: Declan Keegan
Assistant Coach: Roelie Smit
Manager: Karl O’Neill

– Statistics provided by Des Daly –