Jump to main content



AIB Cup: Focus On Garryowen

AIB Cup: Focus On Garryowen

Chasing a cup treble after wins in the Munster Senior and Junior Cup, Garryowen turn their attention to the AIB Cup this weekend. IrishRugby.ie takes a closer look at the Limerick club.

GarryowenSeventeen seasons of Division One rugby is a testament to the strength of Garryowen. They won the title in 1991/92 and 1993/94 and topped the league last season before losing in the play-off semi-finals to Limerick rivals Shannon.

They come to the final on the back of five wins from five, the latest a narrow victory over Clontarf to keep them in the hunt for a play-off place in Divison One.

Garryowen are also chasing a cup treble this season, having already won the Munster Senior and Junior Cups this season. They beat Cork Constitution in the final of the Munster Senior Cup to win a record 36th title.

Kevin HartiganGarryowen will also have revenge on their minds on Saturday. Despite beating their final opponents Belfast Harlequins 17-0 earlier this season in the league, they still remember the eight tries they shipped against them back in 2004 – their worst ever AIB League defeat.

They have produced a number of AIB Club internationals in the last two seasons. The AIB Club XV have been involved in games against Scotland Clubs (twice) and England Counties.

Peter Malone, Kevin Hartigan (pictured right), Ciaran O’Boyle, Damian Varley and Gerry Hurley have all been selected in the Club XV over the past two seasons.


Road To The Final –

First Round, Saturday, January 13, 2007

Home to Buccaneers, Won 16-13

Try: Keven Hartigan;  Con: Eoghan Hickey; Pens: Eoghan Hickey 3

Quarter-Final,  Saturday  February 3, 2007

Home to St. Mary’s College, Won 16-13

Try: Mark Melbourne; Con: Eoghan Hickey; Pens: Eoghan Hickey 3

Semi-Final, Saturday, March 31, 2007

Home to Clonakilty, Won 32-13

Tries: Conor Kilroy, Conan Doyle 2, Eoghan Hickey; Cons: Eoghan Hickey 3; Pen: Eoghan Hickey; Drop: Gerry Hurley

Management –

President  : Billy Purcell

Coach   :  Paul Cunningham

Assistants :  Killian Keane, Darragh O’Sullivan

Manager   :  Mark Keane       

Squad –

Full-Backs – Conor Kilroy, Willie Staunton

Wings– Adam O’Loughlin, Ciaran O’Boyle, Kevin O’Riordan

Centres – Kevin Hartigan, Conan Doyle, Federico Quaglia, Jamie Carroll, Alan McNamara

Out-Halves – Alan Kingsley, Eoghan Hickey

Scrum Halves – Gerry Hurley, Cillian O’Boyle

Props – Rory Brosnan, Eugene McGovern, John Staunton, Liam Og Casey, Ross Callaghan, Declan Lavery, James Clifford

Hookers – Damian Varley, Pat Humphreys, Robert Coates, Ben Rowley

Locks – Mark Melbourne, Chris Wyatt, Frank Broderick, Ed Mackey, Donal Sheehan

Flankers – Paul Neville (capt), David Sherry, Peter Malone

No. 8s – John O’Sullivan,  Anthony Kavanagh, Frank McKenna

– Statistics provided by Des Daly –