Jump to main content


Connacht Squad Shows Four Changes

Connacht Squad Shows Four Changes

Connacht have made four changes to their squad and included new signing Gavin Duffy.

Connacht have announced a 22 man squad ahead of their Magners League derby clash with Leinster at Donnybrook on Saturday (kick off 5.15pm). 

The squad shows four changes to that which beat Border Reivers last time out at the Sportsground. Gavin Duffy has been named in the squad for the first time since returning to Connacht from Harlequins three weeks ago. Andrew Farley, John Fogarty and Conor McPhillips have been passed fit to play, having overcome their injuries, and they are named in the squad in place of Conor O’Loughlin, Conor Muldoon, Ryan Strudwick and Peter Durcan. 

Meanwhile Michael Swift and Colm Rigney have signed new contracts which will keep them at the Sportsground until the summer of 2008 at least.

Back rower Rigney returned to Connacht two seasons ago after a spell with Leeds Tykes. Swift, currently in his seventh season with Connacht, is set to become one of Connacht’s longest serving players ever.

Connacht CEO Gerry Kelly said that having experienced players like Swift and Rigney extending their contracts was a big boost.

“They have contributed a lot to Connacht over the years and it is great that they have signed new contracts,” said Kelly.

Connacht squad (v Leinster):

Gavin Duffy, Andrew Farley, Adrian Flavin, John Fogarty, David Gannon, John Hearty, Ray Hogan, Chris Keane, Stephen Knoop, Matt Lacey, Mark McHugh, Conor McPhillips, John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa, Colm Rigney, Daniel Riordan, David Slemen, Michael Swift, Paul Warwick, Brett Wilkinson, Gavin Williams, Darren Yapp.

Not considered due to injury: Ronan Loughney (knee), Keith Matthews (knee), Matt Mostyn (knee), Brendan O’Connor (arm), Conor O’Loughlin (hip), Ted Robinson (hamstring), Tom Tierney (ankle).