Jump to main content


Magners League: Ulster V Munster

Magners League: Ulster V Munster

Two of Ireland’s Under 20s Grand Slam stars could face each other at Ravenhill in the Magners League on Friday night.

Ulster Coach Mark McCall has named Ireland’s Under 20 Grand Slam Captain David Pollock on the bench for tomorrow nights clash with Munster at Ravenhill.

Meanwhile his Under 20 team mate Keith Earls may yet earn a place on the Munster bench, having been named as possible in conjunction with new signing Brian Carney. Munster coach Declan Kidney has opted to start with Ireland hooker Jerry Flannery and has left a decision on whether to include Carney until tomorrow.

Ulster have left a number of variables in their side as they wait on  fitness tests on David Humphreys and Simon Best.

Humphreys will undergo a fitness test on Friday afternoon and McCall will confirm his starting line up one hour before kick off. Another injury concern is Simon Best who will also undergo a late fitness test, if Simon is not declared fit then Declan Fitzpatrick will be brought onto the replacements bench. Ireland scrum half Isaac Boss returns from injury to start at scrum half. Ryan Caldwell earns his first Ulster start this season and said” I am glad to be given the opportunity to start and I hope that I can be part of a good team performance on the night”

Speaking about his selection of David Pollock Mark McCall said “David was sensational for Ireland Under-20s and he has come in great shape and with an extra spring in his step, All he needs now is an opportunity.”

Ulster are currently second in the Magners League with 45 points, just one point behind Leinster. Munster stand eighth in the league with 32 points.

This is an all ticket match and very close to being a sell out, with only 50 terrace tickets left for sale.


15 – Bryn Cunningham; 14 – Tommy Bowe; 13 – Paul Steinmetz / Andrew Trimble; 12 – Paddy Wallace / Paul Steinmetz; 11 – Paul McKenzie / Andrew Trimble; 10 – David Humphreys / Paddy Wallace; 9 – Isaac Boss; 1 – Justin Fitzpatrick; 2 – Rory Best; 3 – Bryan Young; 4 – Justin Harrison (Captain); 5 – Ryan Caldwell; 6 – Stephen Ferris; 7 – Kieron Dawson; 8 – Roger Wilson;

16 – Paul Shields; 17 – Simon Best / Declan Fitzpatrick; 18 – Tim Barker 19 – David Pollock ; 20 – Kieran Campbell; 21 – Paul McKenzie / AN Other; 22 – Andrew Maxwell


1 – Eugene McGovern, 2 – Jerry Flannery, 3 – Tony Buckley, 4 – Donnacha Ryan, 5 – Chris Wyatt, 6 – Alan Quinlan, 7 – Tim McGann, 8 – John O’Sullivan, 9 – Tomas O’Leary, 10 – Eoghan Hickey, 11 – Ian Dowling, 12 – Trevor Halstead, 13 – Lifeimi Mafi, 14 – Barry Murphy, 15 – Christian Cullen

Replacements: 16 – Tim Ryan, 17 – Frankie Sheahan, 18 – Mark Melbourne, 19 – AN Other, 20 – Brian O’Meara, 21 – Jeremy Manning, 22 Brian Carney or Keith Earls.