Jump to main content



Coleraine And Seapoint To Contest AIB Junior Cup Final

Coleraine And Seapoint To Contest AIB Junior Cup Final

Next month’s AIB Junior Cup final will be an Ulster-Leinster affair after semi-final wins for Coleraine and Seapoint on Saturday afternoon.

The 2007 decider will take place at Athlone’s Dubarry Park on Saturday, April 14 (kick-off 2pm).

David Andrews kicked five penalties and converted Gareth Cochrane’s two tries as Coleraine came away from Mallow with a 29-13 semi-final success.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Cork side bagged a try through Des Golden, while Andrew Cashman finished with a personal tally of eight points – kicking two penalties and a conversion.

Seapoint just had the edge on Crosshaven at Myrtleville Cross, with the Dubliners running out 15-8 winners. Back rowers Stephen Walsh and Ben Focas scored a try apiece for the pre-tournament favourites, while Brian Keegan tagged on a penalty and a conversion.

Conor Deane scored all of Crosshaven’s points with a try and penalty.

‘Haven recently won the Munster Junior League Division One title to qualify as Munster’s representatives in the AIB League Round Robin Series which begins next Saturday.

Coleraine will be hoping to keep the AIB Junior Cup north of the border – Magherafelt side Rainey Old Boys won last year’s inaugural tournament, beating Youghal 27-5 in the final at Lansdowne Road.

Fixture To Come –

2007 AIB Junior Cup Final: Saturday, April 14

Coleraine v Seapoint, Dubarry Park, 2pm