Jump to main content


Castlebar RFC to honour Past Presidents

Castlebar RFC to honour Past Presidents

Castlebar RFC are currently in the process of compiling a list of its past presidents who will be remembered through their inclusion in a presidents’ board which will be erected in the clubhouse during the weekend of the 18th, 19th and 20th of May 2007

This coincides with a very special weekend in which past players of the club since its reformation in 1971 through its early years up to the mid 1980’s will get together as part of a weekend celebrating the club, its players, officers and supporters throughout that period of time.

The work involved in researching this list has been long and in some cases frustrating. However this has not deterred the enthusiasm and determination of its members to organise this weekend and make one that will be remembered for years to come. Special credit must also go to current President Trevor Ardill and incoming President Rory Casey who have stayed with this project through thick and thin and the moment this Board is erected will most certainly be a proud moment for both men.

But two men alone could not make this proposed weekend the success that it will be. A committee of past players and officers namely Gerry Gillard, Fergus Kilkelly, Tony McHugh, Eamon Courell and Peter McGuirn have been working tirelessly to make this a success, getting in touch with past players and officers all with the invitation to be part of this very special weekend. A special appeal has also gone out to those who may not have been invited yet. Should anyone be interested in taking part in what is a historic time for Castlebar RFC, they are asked to contact any member of the reunion committee as soon as possible.

As mentioned earlier, a board featuring all past presidents of the club will be erected in the clubhouse to much fanfare on that weekend, remembering those whose hard work has done much to make the club one of the most progressive in the province if not the country with facilities that are envied by many sporting organisations and all done through the hard work of its members. Sadly there are still gaps in the list and the call now goes out to those who may be able to fill those gaps and complete the board. Should anyone have information or might be able to correct any mistakes. They are asked to contact Rory Casey on 087 – 2860235 as soon as possible.

List of Past Presidents – Castlebar Rugby Football Club
1971 P.C. Bresnihan 
1974 Michael Heverin 
1976 Frank Walsh 
1979 Fergus Kilkelly 
1982 George O Malley 
1983 George O Malley 
1984 David Flood
1985 Donagh Barry 
1987 Gerry Gillard 
1988 Gerry Gillard 
1989 Dermot Heneghan 
1990 Seamus Cusack 
1991 Tommy Staunton 
1992 Tommy Staunton 
1993 Tommy Staunton 
1994 Ward McEllin 
1995 Ward McEllin 
1996 Jim Finan
1997 Jim Finan 
1999 Jimmy Staunton 
2000 Jimmy Staunton 
2001 Gerry Casey 
2002 Gerry Casey 
2003 Joe Rawson 
2004 Dave O Malley 
2005 Paul Gannon 
2006 Trevor Ardill 
2007 Rory Casey