Jump to main content



AIB Junior Cup Preview: Coleraine v Boyne

AIB Junior Cup Preview: Coleraine v Boyne

See below for a preview of Saturday’s AIB Junior Cup quarter-final between Ulster side Coleraine and Boyne of Leinster (Sandal Lodge Park, kick-off 2.30pm).


Saturday, February 10


Sandal Lodge Park, 2.30pm
Referee: Declan Browne (Leinster)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Coleraine Statistics/Notes:

Founded: 1921
Location: Sandal Lodge Park, East County Derry

Qualification: By finishing third in the 2005/06 Ulster Qualifying League, Coleraine were one of four Junior clubs entered by the Ulster Branch into the first round of the AIB Junior Cup.

Recent History: They won the Ulster Qualifying League in 1999/2000 and 2003/04. Advanced into the Junior clubs’ Interprovincial Round Robin series on each occasion.

In the 1999/2000 series, they lost 16-11 to Bruff, 18-8 to Connemara and 19-16 to Naas who were promoted into the senior ranks. In ’04, they beat Seapoint 9-7, but lost 14-8 to Monivea and 26-16 to Bruff who were promoted.

They beat Clogher Valley 21-19 to win the Towns Cup in Ulster last season.

AIB Junior Cup First Round: They went to Tullamore and won 33-25 with tries from John Boyd and Tommy Van Wycke, four penalties from Peter McNay and a drop goal from Archie Kettyle.

Ulster Qualifying League: With three games left to play, they currently lie in third in Section One of the Ulster Qualifying League, having won nine of their 15 games. They appear to be out of contention for qualification into the end of season Round Robin series, but should make next season’s AIB Junior Cup.

2006/07 Cup Form: In the Ulster Towns Cup, they beat Holywood 85-0 in round one before losing 20-11 away to Enniskillen in the second round. Have won three out of three in their Ulster Junio League Cup section this season and are almost certain to qualify for the March 31 quarter-finals.

Junior Interpro players: Nigel Hall
President: Francis Kerr
Captain: John Boyd
Coach: Norman Blair
Foreign Players: None
Sponsors: Coca-Cola
Notes: Coleraine are one of two Derry clubs in the AIB Junior Cup’s last-eight. They have got a home match after travelling in the first round

Boyne Statistics/Notes:

Founded: as Drogheda 1875; as Boyne 1997
Location: Shamrock Lodge

Qualification: By finishising fourth in the 2005/06 Leinster League, Boyne were one of four Junior clubs entered by the Leinster Branch into the first round of this season’s AIB Junior Cup.

Recent History: Boyne, Shane Horgan’s club as a teenager, won the Leinster League Division Two title in the 2001/02 season and have competed in Division One since. Boyne reached the semi-finals of the Provincial Towns Cup last season. All of 34 of their former Youths players have gone on to play senior rugby in the past decade.

AIB Junior Cup First Round: Eventually flew to Cork to beat Cobh Pirates 13-12 on January 6 with a try from Adam Sherrard and a conversion and two penalties from Niall Kerby.

Leinster Junior League: With one round left to play, they are currently placed fifth in Leinster League Division One, having won seven and drawn one of their 11 games. These results include a 20-14 win at home over Monkstown and a 16-122 loss away to Portlaoise.

They have a good chance of overtaking Tullamore and making the top four and so qualifying for next season’s AIB Junior Cup.

2006/07 Cup Form: They have been drawn at home to Mullingar in the Leinster Provincial Towns Cup first round, which will be played on February 25.

Junior Interpro players: Full-back Niall Kerby, winger Adam Sherrard and number 8 Robert Doran were all capped by Leinster at Junior level in recent seasons
President: Ron Eustace
Captain: Eoin Collins
Coach: Wayne Mitchell (South Africa)
Foreign Players: Jacques Vernall (New Zealand)
Sponsors: Euro Construction Ltd.
Notes: This is the first of two Ulster v Leinster clashes in the AIB Junior Cup’s quarter-finals