Jump to main content



Ireland Team For Wales Named

Ireland Team For Wales Named

The Ireland team to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations Championship shows eight changes to the side that started against the Pacific Islanders in the 2006 Guinness Autumn Series.

Andrew Trimble, who was ruled out of the final two test matches of the Autumn series, returns to the side on the right wing in place of Luke Fitzgerald. Gordon D’Arcy takes over in the centre from Shane Horgan, who is recovering from a knee injury, to partner Captain Brian O’Driscoll.  The final change in the backline is at No.10, where Ronan O’Gara starts instead of Paddy Wallace, who is named in the replacements.

The front row sees two changes with Marcus Horan and Rory Best returning to the starting XV.  Malcolm O’Kelly is ruled out of contention due to his knee injury, so Donncha O’Callaghan will partner Paul O’Connell in the second row.  Simon Easterby is the only remaining backrow selection remaining from the Pacific Islanders game with the return of David Wallace and Denis Leamy.

Girvan Dempsey will be winning his 70th cap for an Ireland team that will be captained by Brian O’Driscoll for the 34th time.

Ireland V Wales, RBS 6 Nations 2007:

15 – Girvan Dempsey Terenure College/Leinster 69
14 – Andrew Trimble Ballymena/Ulster 10
13 – Brian O’Driscoll (Captain) Blackrock College/Leinster 70
12 – Gordon D’Arcy Lansdowne/Leinster 26
11 – Denis Hickie St.Mary’s College/Leinster 53
10 – Ronan O’Gara  Cork Constitution/Munster 66
9 – Peter Stringer Shannon/Munster 72
1 – Marcus Horan Shannon/Munster 42
2 – Rory Best Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 7
3 – John Hayes Bruff/Munster 68
4 – Donncha O’Callaghan Cork Constitution/Munster 30
5 – Paul O’Connell Young Munster/Munster 39
6 – Simon Easterby Llanelli 52
7 – David Wallace Garryowen/Munster 32
8 – Denis Leamy Cork Constitution/Munster 17


16 – Jerry Flannery Shannon/Munster 9
17 – Simon Best Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 13
18 – Neil Best Belfast Harlequins/Ulster 7
19 – Mick O’Driscoll Cork Constitution/Munster 5
20 – Isaac Boss Ballymena/Ulster 5
21 – Paddy Wallace Ballymena/Ulster 2
22 – Geordan Murphy Leicester 44

Not considered due to injury:

Malcolm O’Kelly (St.Mary’s College/Leinster) {Knee}