Jump to main content


Match Updates: Ulster v Ospreys

Match Updates: Ulster v Ospreys

Click here for score updates from Ulster’s Magners League clash with the Ospreys at Ravenhill.

…Ulster lock Justin Harrison…

MAGNERS LEAGUE: Friday, September 22

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

ULSTER 43 OSPREYS 7, Ravenhill

Scorers: Ulster: Tries: Rory Best, Tommy Bowe, Paul Steinmetz, Neil McMillan; Cons: David Humphreys 4; Pens: Humphreys 5

Ospreys: Try: Lee Byrne; Con: James Hook

Team News: Ulster coach Mark McCall has named his side for the visit of 2004/05 champions the Ospreys.

The only change to the starting line-up from last week’s 20-15 defeat to Edinburgh sees the return of Justin Harrison from a calf injury. The former Wallaby will captain the province, with Matt McCullough moving to the bench.

Amongst the replacements there are three changes – McCullough replaces Lewis Stevenson as second row cover, Declan Fitzpatrick comes in for Tom Court, and Scott Young makes way for Tommy Bowe, who has been released from the Irish squad’s pre-season conditioning programme.

The Ospreys will show twelve changes in personnel when they run out at Ravenhill. With a number of players injured including hookers Huw Bennett and Richard Hibbard and back rows Andy Lloyd and Filo Tiatia, but with some of his Welsh stars itching for game time, coach Lyn Jones has made alterations to the side that beat the Border Reivers last weekend.

There are five changes in the back line with Nikki Walker, Shane Williams, Gavin Henson, Sonny Parker and Justin Marshall all returning.

Flanker Lee Beach is the only survivor in the pack.

Ulster: Bryn Cunningham; Mark Bartholomeusz, Paul Steinmetz, Paddy Wallace, Alan Maxwell; David Humphreys, Isaac Boss; Justin Fitzpatrick, Rory Best, Bryan Young, Justin Harrison (capt), Tim Barker, Stephen Ferris, Kieron Dawson, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Paul Shields, Declan Fitzpatrick, Matt McCullough, Neil McMillan, Kieran Campbell, Kevin Maggs, Tommy Bowe.

Ospreys: Lee Byrne; Nikki Walker, Sonny Parker, James Hook, Richard Mustoe; Gavin Henson, Justin Marshall; Duncan Jones (capt), Barry Williams, Adam Jones, Alun Wyn Jones, Ian Evans, Jonathan Thomas, Richie Pugh, Ryan Jones.

Replacements: Ed Shevington, Paul James, Brent Cockbain, Lee Beach, Jason Spice, Andrew Bishop, Stefan Terblanche.

Referee: Peter Allan (Scotland)
Touch Judges: Ger English, Dermot Moloney (both Ireland)