Jump to main content


Munster Name Squad for Magners League

Munster Name Squad for Magners League

Munster have named their squad for the kick off of the Magners League. They will feature in the first game of the newly sponsored league – against Cardiff Blues on Friday.

…All smiles at the launch last week but this week it is Time To Play as the Magners league kicks off..

Munster coach Declan Kidney has named a 24 man squad for his side’s opening game in the Magners League – against the Cardiff Blues at the Arms Park on Friday. The game kicks off at 7:10 p.m. and will be carried live on BBC Wales.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The teams have met six times in the league with Munster winning four out of the six encounters. Cardiff Blues have yet to win an opening day match while Munster have won their opening fixture in four out of the last five seasons.

Kidney has left a vacancy in the forwards pending some fitness tests and as expected has named both Frankie Sheahan and young Shannon hooker Sean Cronin – who impressed in the AIB League Final last season – in the squad.

The Munster squad is:

Backs: Christian Cullen, Shaun Payne, Ian Dowling, James Downey, John Kelly, Mossy Lawlor, Tom Gleeson,
Eoghan Hickey, Jeremy Manning, Tomas O’Leary, Gerry Hurley.

Forwards: Federico Pucciariello, Darragh Hurley, Timmy Ryan, Frank Sheahan, Sean Cronin, James Coughlan, John O’Sullivan, Donnacha Ryan, Ross Noonan, Chris Wyatt, Brendan Cuttriss, Shane O’Connor, AN Other.