Jump to main content


Argentina confirm place in RWC

Argentina confirm place in RWC

Argentina have qualified for the RWC in France next season and will take their place, as expected, in Ireland’s group.

…Brian O’Driscoll is tackled by Leinster team mate Felipe Contepomi – they may now face each other in RWC 2007 in France…

Ireland and Argentina will renew their Rugby World Cup rivalry in France next year after The Pumas confirmed their place with a 26-0 win over Uruguay.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Pumas, who have appeared in all five previous World Cups, scored two unanswered tries by wing Miguel Avramovic to join France, Ireland and two more teams still to qualify in Pool D next year.

Uruguay, who have played at the last two World Cups, host Chile on July 22 with the loser bowing out and the winner advancing to a playoff against either Canada or the United States.

Canada play the U.S. on Wednesday to decide the second of the three regional qualifiers from the Americas. The third qualifier will be the winner of the playoff.

The eight quarter-finalists from the last World Cup in 2003 – England, Australia, New Zealand, France, South Africa, Wales, Ireland and Scotland – were all given automatic places in the 2007 event.

Argentina are the third team to seal their place through qualifying, joining Fiji and Samoa from Oceania.

Ireland and Argentina have a long Rugby World Cup history with Ireland winning by 16 – 15 in 2003 – the only try coming from Ireland’s Alan Quinlan. Ireland were famously knocked out by the Pumas in ’99 when they went down by 28 – 24 in Lens.

The Irish Rugby Supporters Club
In association with Canterbury of New Zealand
Exclusive Access, Tickets, Competitions and Much More