Jump to main content


Results: Division One/Three Finals

Results: Division One/Three Finals

Shannon ran in four tries as they thoroughly outclassed Clontarf on the way to their eighth AIB League Division One title. Clonakilty edged past Suttonians for their maiden Division Three win.

…Ireland Under-21 hooker Sean Cronin goes over for the opening try for Shannon…

AIB LEAGUE: Saturday, May 13

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article


CLONTARF 3 SHANNON 30, Lansdowne Road

Scorers: Clontarf: Pen: Daragh O’Shea

Shannon: Tries: Sean Cronin, Eoin Cahill, Andrew Thompson, David O’Donovan; Cons: David Delaney 2; Pens: Delaney 2

CLONTARF: D O’Shea; N O’Brien, M Hewitt, J Downey, D Keane; P O’Brien, F O’Loughlin; J Wickham (capt), N Carson, R Sweeney, A Trenier, A Wood, J Ellison, D O’Brien, P Purdue.

Replacements used: M R McDonald for Keane (47 mins), K Dorian for Sweeney, A O’Donnell for Wickham (both 60), D Quinn for Purdue (74), P Whately for Carson, D Geraghty for O’Loughlin (both 80)

SHANNON: M Lawlor; P O’Connor, B Tuohy, E Cahill, A Thompson; D Delaney, F McNamara; L Hogan, S Cronin, G McNamara, T Hogan, P O’Brien, C McMahon (capt), J O’Connor, D Ryan.

Replacements used: A Quinlan for McMahon, S Keogh for O’Brien (both 53 mins), D O’Donovan for P O’Connor (74), TJ Hickey for Cronin, T Downes for L Hogan (both 80+1), M Tuohy for Thompson, J Clogan for Cahill (both 80+2)

Referee: Alain Rolland (IRFU)



Scorers: Clonakilty: Try: Eoin Scannell; Con: Gary Cribb; Pens: Cribb 3; Drop: Cribb

Suttonians: Tries: Dara Mulligan, David Walsh; Con: Paddy Maguire

CLONAKILTY: D Dillon (capt); J O’Donnell, P Dillon, D Lombard, N O’Sullivan; G Cribb, C Murphy; E Knowles, A Harte, J Knowles, D Whelton, E Scannell, M Keohane, L Harte, D Coppinger.

Replacements used: D Cookson for O’Donnell (42 mins), T Wright for Keohane (56).

SUTTONIANS: D Walsh; D Mulligan, R Murphy, M O’Shea, D Higgins; P Maguire, V Patton (capt); C Kavanagh, A Ronan, E Conroy, J Finucane, A Kearney, A Walsh, J Fagan, J Tainui.

Replacements used: J Walsh for D Walsh (61 mins), M Flood for Conroy (62), S Lewis for Maguire (71), N Hehir for Finucane (76).

Referee: Colin Stanley (IRFU)