Jump to main content


Updates: FT: Ireland U-19 16 Samoa U-19 15

Updates: FT: Ireland U-19 16 Samoa U-19 15

Click here for updates from the Ireland Under-19s’ Division A clash with Samoa at the IRB U-19 World Championship in Sharjah on Thursday evening.

…Hooker David Gilchrist, on the attack for Belvedere College last season, was one of five changes to the Ireland team for their final pool stage game in Sharjah…


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND U-19 16 SAMOA U-19 15, Sharjah Wanderers

Scorers: Ireland: Try: Ruaidhri Murphy; Con: Brian Collins; Pens: Collins 3

Samoa: Tries: Steve Faatau, Silaumua Potifele; Con: Karl Siemsen; Pen: Ki Anufe

70 mins – The Irish lead is a solid enough one despite two long range drop goal attempts from the Samoans. Full-time – Ireland 16 Samoa 15. McAleese’s charges see out their second win in the tournament, adding to the 17-16 success in the opener against England, to move up to sixth in the Division A table. That means Monday will see them face off against Argentina in the 6th-7th place play-off in Sharjah (kick-off 5.00pm Irish time). The winners will play either Wales or South Africa in the 5th-6th place play-off at Dubai’s Exiles ground on Friday (April 21).

62 mins – Samoan number 8 Talitonu Faapuea is sin-binned at a crucial stage. Although the Islanders are still lively in attack and left winger Morgan Salesa was within a sniff of the Irish try line.

57 mins – Bad news for Ireland as Samoans right winger Silaumua Potifele cuts through for his side’s second try. Full-back Karl Siemsen steps up to kick the conversion and it’s good. The deficit is down to a single point with 13 minutes remaining. Ireland 16 Samoa 15.

39 mins – A great start to the second half for Ireland! And fittingly, one of the new players, Castleknock prop Ruaidhri Murphy – Ireland’s heaviest player at the tournament at 18st 4lbs – muscles over for a try from close range. His school mate Collins converts and the boys in green are looking good.Samoa are also down to 14 men after poor discipline saw openside flanker Richard Muagututia yellow carded. Ireland 16 Samoa 8.

32 mins – Samoan hooker and captain Steve Faatau gets over for a try certainly against the run of play. Anufe cannot convert from a tight angle, and the Islanders go in at the break at just 9-8 down. Half-time – Ireland 9 Samoa 8.

26 mins – Collins lands his third penalty – just reward for a concerted spell in Samoan territory. Ireland 9 Samoa 3.

16 mins – Collins kicks his second penalty as Ireland begin to dominate in open play. Ireland 6 Samoa 3.

7 mins – Samoa reply impressively with a penalty of their own from centre Ki Anufe. Ireland 3 Samoa 3.

4 minutes – The Irish waste little time in taking the lead as Castleknock out-half Brian Collins lands a penalty from 25 metres out. Ireland 3 Samoa 0.

Kick-off – It’s mild and dry at the Sharjah Wanderers ground as the action gets underway in Ireland’s final game in Division A. Coach Charlie McAleese has made five changes to the side – Ruaidhri Murphy and David Gilchrist come into the front row, Niall O’Connor gets the nod at full-back and Ivan Dineen and Aidan Wynne make up a new centre partnership.

IRELAND U-19: Niall O’Connor (Limavady GS); Keith Earls (St Munchin’s), Ivan Dineen (CBC Cork), Aidan Wynne (Blackrock College), Michael Barker (Queens University); Brian Collins (Castlenock College), Paul O’Donohoe (Belvedere College); Ruaidhri Murphy (Castleknock College), David Gilchrist (UCD), Cian Healy (Belvedere College), Andrew Browne (Galwegians), Conor McInerney (UCD), Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians), David Pollock (Queens University) (capt), Kevin Sheahan (UCD).

Replacements: Richard Sweeney (UCD), Gerard Slattery (St Munchin’s), James Gethings (Gonzaga), Jonathan Graham (Ballynahinch), Thomas Walsh (Castlenock College), David Drake (Instonians), Sean Carey (Garbally College), Shane Monahan (Dublin University), Ian Keatley (UCD), Ian Whitten (Queens University).

SAMOA U-19: Karl Siemsen; Silaumua Potifele, Thretton Palamo, Ki Anufe, Morgan Salesa; Salevi Leota, Alatasi Tupou; Sitanisilao Satui, Steve Faatau (capt), Taliaferro Faalogo, Lavatai Tofilau, Ruperake Petaia, Misioka Timoteo, Richard Muagututia, Talitonu Faapuea.

Replacements: Ietitaia Sanerivi, Naama Leleimalefaga, Mania Ieti, Aiuli Siaupiu, Philip Junior Lemalu, James Roache, Tupu Ulufale, Michael Talitonu, Afa Tasipale, Slade Sesole, Etuale Pitone.

Referee: Federico Cuesta (Argentina); Touch Judges: David Jones (Wales), Emile Pirtoc (Romania)