Jump to main content


Result: Ireland 31 Wales 5

Result: Ireland 31 Wales 5

Tries from David Wallace, Shane Horgan and Peter Stringer saw Ireland coast to a deserved 31-5 victory in today’s RBS 6 Nations clash with Wales.

…Shane Horgan dots down his try early in the second half…

RBS 6 NATIONS: Sunday, February 26

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND 31 WALES 5, Lansdowne Road (Att: 49,500)

Scorers: Ireland: Tries: David Wallace, Shane Horgan, Peter Stringer; Cons: Ronan O’Gara 2; Pens: Ronan O’Gara 4

Wales: Try: Mark Jones

TIME LINE: 2 minutes – Wales penalty: missed by Stephen Jones; 8 mins – Wales try: Mark Jones – 0-5; conversion: missed by Stephen Jones – 0-5; 16 mins – Ireland penalty: Ronan O’Gara – 3-5; 24 mins – Ireland try: David Wallace – 8-5; conversion: missed by Ronan O’Gara – 8-5; 33 mins – Ireland penalty: Ronan O’Gara – 11-5; HALF-TIME: IRELAND 11 WALES 5; 44 mins – Ireland try: Shane Horgan – 16-5; conversion: Ronan O’Gara – 18-5; 48 mins – Ireland penalty: Ronan O’Gara – 21-5; 52 mins – Ireland penalty: missed by Ronan O’Gara – 21-5; 59 mins – Ireland penalty: Ronan O’Gara – 24-5; 77 mins – Ireland yellow card: Denis Leamy (kicking a player); 80+1 mins – Ireland try: Peter Stringer – 29-5; conversion: Ronan O’Gara – 31-5; FULL-TIME: IRELAND 31 WALES 5

IRELAND: Geordan Murphy; Shane Horgan, Brian O’Driscoll (capt), Gordon D’Arcy, Andrew Trimble; Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Simon Easterby, David Wallace, Denis Leamy.

Replacements used: Simon Best for Horan (69 mins), Johnny O’Connor for Wallace (75), Mick O’Driscoll for Easterby (77), Rory Best for Flannery (78).

Replacements: Rory Best, Simon Best, Mick O’Driscoll, Johnny O’Connor, Eoin Reddan, David Humphreys, Girvan Dempsey.

WALES: Lee Byrne; Mark Jones, Hal Luscombe, Matthew Watkins, Dafydd James; Stephen Jones, Dwayne Peel; Duncan Jones, Rhys Thomas, Adam Jones, Ian Gough, Robert Sidoli, Colin Charvis, Martyn Williams, Michael Owen (capt).

Replacements used: Gavin Henson for S Jones (19 mins), Gethin Jenkins for D Jones (46), Gareth Delve for Charvis (56), Mefin Davies for R Thomas (61)

Replacements: Mefin Davies, Gethin Jenkins, Jonathan Thomas, Gareth Delve, Michael Phillips, Gavin Henson, Barry Davies.

Sin Bin: Leamy (Ireland) (77 mins); RBS Man of the Match: Shane Horgan

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)

Touch Judges: Chris White (England), Malcolm Changleng (Scotland); TV Match Official: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

The Irish Rugby Supporters Club
In association with Canterbury of New Zealand
Exclusive Access, Tickets, Competitions and Much More
Click Here