Jump to main content


Two Changes To Ireland Under-19 ‘A’ Team

Two Changes To Ireland Under-19 ‘A’ Team

The Ireland Under-19 ‘A’ team to play Australia Schools at Donnybrook on Saturday next has been confirmed. Click here for team details.

…PBC Cork centre Tim Kenneally on the attack for Munster against Leinster during last month’s Under-19 Interprovincial…

The Ireland Under-19 ‘A’ team to play Australia Schools at Donnybrook on Saturday next has been confirmed.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Ireland Under-19 squad for the current season is being coached by Charlie McAleese and managed by Keith Patten. Bobby Byrne and former Ireland international centre Killian Keane are also assisting.

On Thursday, the Ireland management were forced into making two changes to the originally named side owing to injury – prop forward Richard Sweeney (UCD) has been be replaced by Neil Simpson (Instonians), and Jonathon Lightowler (RGS Worcester & Worcester) makes way for Stuart Morrow (Ballynahinch) on the bench.

The Australian Schools side, coached by Pat Langtry, lost 27-7 to Wales Under-19 last weekend.

UNDERAGE FRIENDLY: Saturday, December 17

Ireland Under-19 ‘A’ v Australia Schools, Donnybrook, 2.00pm

IRELAND U-19 ‘A’: 15 – Sean Carey (Buccaneers); 14 – Rory O’Connor (Rockwell), 13 – Aidan Wynne (Blackrock College), 12 – Tim Kenneally (PBC Cork), 11 – Keith Earls (St. Munchin’s); 10 – Niall O’Connor (Limavady Grammar School), 9 – David Drake (Instonians); 1 – Michael Ferguson (Queen’s University), 2 – Gerard Slattery (St. Munchin’s) (capt), 3 – Neil Simpson (Instonians), 4 – Richard McCarthy (PBC Cork), 5 – Andrew Browne (Galwegians), 6 – Burschi Wojnar (St. Gerard’s), 7 – David Fenlon (Dulwich College), 8 – Jonathon Graham (Ballynahinch).

Replacements: 16 – Paul Devitt (Belvedere), 17 – David Millard (Harlequins/St. Mary’s College), 18 – Cian Healy (Belvedere), 19 – Tom Walsh (Castleknock), 20 – James McCullough (RBAI), 21 – Paul O’Donohoe (Belvedere), 22 – Ian Keatley (UCD), 23 – Stuart Morrow (Ballynahinch).

AUSTRALIA SCHOOLS TOURING SQUAD: Josh Afu (Brisbane State High School, Queensland), Andrew Barrett (Illawarra Sports High School, NSW), Kurtley Beale (St. Joseph’s College Hunters Hill, NSW), Peter Betham (St Joseph’s College Hunters Hill, NSW), Quade Cooper (Anglican Church Grammar School, Queensland), Ben Daley (All Saints Anglican School, Queensland), Joseph Egan (Casuarina Senior College, Northern Territory), Brett Gillespie (Ipswich Grammar School, Queensland), James Hanson (St Joseph’s College Gregory Terrace, Queensland), Chris Harkins (Marist College Canberra, ACT), Rowan Ella (Cumberland High School, NSW), Jack Lam (St. Edmund’s College, ACT), Daniel Linde (Ipswich Grammar School, Queensland), Ben Lucas (St. Joseph’s College, Gregory Terrace, Queensland), Phil Mathers (The Kings School, NSW), Ben McCalman (Kinross Wolaroi School, NSW), Patrick McCutcheon (capt), (St. Joseph’s College Hunters Hill, NSW), David Pocock (Anglican Church Grammar School, Queensland), Daniel Roach (St. Ignatius College, NSW), Lachlan Rosengreen (Sydney Grammar School, NSW), Jonathan Salvi (Marist College Canberra, ACT), Nathan Sievert (St. Joseph’s College Hunters Hill, NSW), Brett Stapleton (The Southport School, Queensland), Lachlan Turner (Newington College, NSW), Masi Tusitala (Marist College Canberra, ACT), Brando Vaaulu (Brisbane State High School, Queensland), Gavin Warren (St. Joseph’s College Nudgee, Queensland), Sam Wykes (Patrician Brothers Blacktown, NSW).

Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France); Touch Judges: Des Woods, Kevin Beggs (both Ireland)