Jump to main content


Celtic League: Munster v Ulster

Celtic League: Munster v Ulster

Click here for team news and match details ahead of Saturday’s Celtic League meeting between Munster and Ulster at Musgrave Park.

Munster’s John Kelly is pictured trying to stop Ulster number eight Roger Wilson in his tracks last March. Both players scored a try in the 21-15 Celtic League win for Munster.

CELTIC LEAGUE: Saturday, December 3

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Munster v Ulster, Musgrave Park, 7.10pm (live Setanta Sports)

2005/06: CL Positions: Munster: 1st, Ulster: 3rd; CL Form: Munster: WWLWWWW(Free Wk)W; Ulster: W(Free Wk)WWWLWWL.

CL Top Points Scorers: Munster: Ronan O’Gara, Paul Burke both 41; Ulster: David Humphreys 69; Top Try Scorers: Munster: Gary Connolly, Marcus Horan, Anthony Horgan, John Kelly all 2; Ulster: Neil Best 4.

Recent Meetings: 2001 – Celtic League Semi-final: Munster 15 Ulster 9, Lansdowne Road; 2002 – Interprovincial Championship: Ulster 23 Munster 18, Ravenhill; 2002/03 – Celtic League: Ulster 26 Munster 17, Ravenhill; Celtic League Semi-final: Munster 42 Ulster 10, Thomond Park; 2003/04 – Celtic League: Munster 15 Ulster 16, Musgrave Park; Ulster 36 Munster 13, Ravenhill; 2004/05 – Celtic League: Ulster 3 Munster 24, Ravenhill; Munster 21 Ulster 15, Musgrave Park.

Celtic League Odds: Munster 10/11, Ulster 6/1 (Paddy Power).

MUNSTER: Jeremy Manning; Anton Pitout, Gary Connolly, Trevor Halstead, Anthony Horgan; Ronan O’Gara, Peter Stringer; Frank Roche, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Denis Leamy, David Wallace, Anthony Foley (Capt).

Replacements: Marcus Horan, Denis Fogarty, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Tomas O’Leary, Barry Murphy, Mossy Lawlor.

ULSTER Squad: Forwards (12): Simon Best (capt), Bryan Young, Rod Moore, Rory Best, Nigel Brady, Justin Harrison, Matt McCullough, Ryan Caldwell, Neil Best, Neil McMillan, Roger Wilson, Stephen Ferris.

Backs (10): Isaac Boss, Kieran Campbell, David Humphreys, Adam Larkin, Paul Steinmetz, Kevin Maggs, Andrew Trimble, James Topping, Tommy Bowe, Bryn Cunningham.

Referee: Alain Rolland (IRFU); Touch Judges: Alan Rogan, John Carvill (both IRFU).