Jump to main content


Southern Class On Show

Southern Class On Show

Ireland’s David Humphreys, Donncha O’Callaghan and Eric Miller were treated to a masterclass in finishing as the South picked off eight tries in their 54-19 IRB Tsunami Rugby Aid match victory.

Ireland’s David Humphreys, Donncha O’Callaghan and Eric Miller were treated to a masterclass in finishing as the South picked off eight tries in their 54-19 IRB Tsunami Rugby Aid match victory.

The International Rugby Board’s humanitarian partner – the United Nations’ World Food Programme (WFP) – was the real winner in front of 40,246 at Twickenham, as over a million pounds sterling was raised to support their work in areas hit by last year’s tsunami.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Humphreys – who converted Andy Titterell’s early try – was outshone by New Zealander Andrew Mehrtens, who top-scored with 12 points (6 conversions).

All Black skipper Tana Umaga, Australian full-back Chris Latham (2), Newcastle’s Samoan Semo Sititi (2), veteran Samoan winger Brian Lima and the South African pair of flanker Schalk Burger and centre Jacque Fourie were all on target for Rod Macqueen’s side.

They led the North 28-12 at the break in west London, with Titterell’s try – set up by captain Lawrence Dallaglio – added to by an opportunist 27th-minute effort from Pat Sanderson, set-up by a Mirco Bergamasco’s tap-down from Humphreys’ cross-field kick.

Italian winger Bergamasco went under the posts on the hour for Sir Clive Woodward’s side’s third try, but the result was never in doubt with Sititi’s first the pick of the visitors’ tries.

He struck on 51 minutes – taking on Latham’s pass, after Fijian winger Sireli Bobo – a sevens exponent – had blazed open the North defence with a 40-metre sprint.

North 19 South 54, Twickenham
Scorers: North: Tries: Andy Titterell, Pat Sanderson, Mirco Bergamasco; Cons: David Humphreys, Ceri Sweeney
South: Tries: Tana Umaga, Brian Lima, Chris Latham 2, Schalk Burger, Semo Sititi 2, Jacque Fourie; Cons: Andrew Mehrtens 6, Latham

Scoring Sequence:
12 minutes: South try: Tana Umaga; conversion: Andrew Mehrtens – 0-7
20: North try: Andy Titterell; con: David Humphreys – 7-7
25: South try: Brian Lima; con: Mehrtens – 7-14
27: North try: Pat Sanderson – 12-14
35: South try: Chris Latham; con: Mehrtens – 12-21
40: South try: Schalk Burger; con: Mehrtens – 12-28
HT: North 12 South 28
52: South try: Semo Sititi – 12-33; con: Mehrtens – 12-35
61:North try: Mirco Bergamasco; con: Ceri Sweeney – 19-35
64: South try: Latham; con: Mehrtens – 19-42
74: South try: Jacque Fourie; con: Latham – 19-49
75: South try: Sititi – 19-54
FT: North 19 South 54


(15) Chris Paterson (Edinburgh, Scotland)
(14) Mirco Bergamasco (Stade Frangais, Italy)
(13) Ollie Smith (Leicester, England)
(12) Ceri Sweeney (Newport Gwent, Wales)
(11) Ben Cohen (Northampton, England)
(10) David Humphreys (Ulster, Ireland)
(9) Gareth Cooper (Newport Gwent, Wales)
(1) John Yapp (Cardiff, Wales)
(2) Andy Titterrell (Sale Sharks, England)
(3) Chris Horsman (Worcester)
(4) Marco Bortolami (RC Narbonne, Italy)
(5) Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster, Ireland)
(6) Lawrence Dallaglio (Wasps, England) (Capt)
(7) Pat Sanderson (Worcester, England)
(8) Simon Taylor (Edinburgh, Scotland)


(16) Raphakl Ibanez (Saracens, France)
(17) Cidric Soulette (ASM Clermont Auvergne, France)
(18) Eric Miller (Leinster, Ireland)
(19) Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys, Wales)
(20) Mike Phillips (Llanelli, Wales)
(21) Mark Taylor (Llanelli, Wales)
(22) Mathew Tait (Newcastle Falcons, England)
(pitchside) Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster, Ireland)


(15) Chris Latham (Reds, Australia)
(14) Brian Lima (Samoa)
(13) Jacque Fourie (Cats, South Africa)
(12) Tana Umaga (Hurricanes, New Zealand)
(11) Sireli Bobo (Parma, Fiji)
(10) Andrew Mehrtens (Crusaders, New Zealand)
(9) George Gregan (Brumbies, Australia) (Capt)
(1) Carl Hoeft (Highlanders, New Zealand)
(2) John Smit (Sharks, South Africa)
(3) Kobus Visagie (Saracens, South Africa)
(4) Matt Mustchin (Ulster)
(5) Victor Matfield (Bulls, South Africa)
(6) Schalk Burger (Stormers, South Africa)
(7) Phil Waugh (Waratahs, Australia)
(8) Toutai Kefu (Kubota Spears, Australia)


(16) Ephraim Taukafa (Leicester, Tonga)
(17) Eusebio Guinazu (Mendoza, Argentina)
(18) Semo Sititi (Newcastle Falcons, Samoa)
(19) Opeta Palepoi (Rotherham, Samoa)

(20) Moses Raulini (Saracens, Fiji)
(21) Tinus Delport (Worcester, South Africa)

(22) Shane Drahm (Northampton)

HT: North 12 South 28; Attendance: 40,246
Referee: Paddy O’Brien (New Zealand)