Jump to main content


Yapp and Mostyn return for Edinburgh clash

Yapp and Mostyn return for Edinburgh clash

Darren Yapp will make his first appearance of the season for Connacht and Matt Mostyn also returns from injury as Connacht bid to make it three wins in a row on Saturday against Edinburgh.

Darren Yapp and Matt Mostyn have returned form injury to take their place in the starting line up for Connacht’s Celtic League clash with Edinburgh at the Sportsground on Saturday at 2:30pm. Connacht will be looking to maintain fourth spot in the Celtic League and continue their excellent form having accounted for Borders at the Sportsground two weeks ago and Llanelli away last Saturday.

Darren Yapp will be making his first start of the season for Connacht coming back from long term injury. The outside centre missed just one game last season. Mostyn was out for the past two games after suffering an injury just a minute into the game against Cardiff.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

David Slemen and Conor McPhillips will not be risked for the game having sustained injuries in last Saturday’s bonus point win away to the Celtic League champions. Yapp will come into centre in place of James Downey who will move to the bench. Niall O’Brien will start on the wing instead of McPhillips and Mostyn will take over at full back from Slemen.

The front eight will be unchanged for the game with Bernard Jackman poised to make a return from injury taking a place on the bench.

Saturday will mark Counties of Connacht jersey day’. Anyone wearing a county jersey of Mayo, Galway, Roscommon, Sligo or Leitrim will be admitted for free to Saturday’s game.

Connacht: Matt Mostyn; Ted Robinson, Darren Yapp, Mark McHugh, Niall O’Brien; Paul Warwick, Conor O’Loughlin; Ray Hogan, John Fogarty, Stephen Knoop, Andrew Farley, Pieter Myburgh, Michael Swift, Matt Lacey, Mick Carroll.

Replacements: Bernard Jackman, Adrian Clarke, Christian Short, John Muldoon, Mike Walls, Eric Elwood, James Downey.