Jump to main content


McHugh makes seasonal debut for Connacht as O’Sullivan returns

McHugh makes seasonal debut for Connacht as O’Sullivan returns

Connacht have made five changes to their lineup as Mark McHugh makes his first appearance of the season for Connacht and John O’Sullivan returns from injury.

Connacht have made five changes to their side for this Friday’s clash with Cardiff at the Arms Park (KO 7:35pm). Mark McHugh will return to the side for the first time this season while John O’Sullivan who missed out last week through injury also returns.

The changes are in keeping with last season’s very successful squad rotation policy. Dan McFarland comes in for Adrian Clarke in the front row, Pieter Myburgh comes in for Christian Short in the second row and Paul Neville replaces John Muldoon. All three are in line to make their first starts of the season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mark McHugh will start at inside centre, with Niall O’Brien moving to the wing and Ted Robinson taking a place on the bench. John O’Sullivan comes in for Mick Carroll. Meanwhile Michael Swift comes into the squad for this first time this season after injury.

The game is live on BBC Wales and those of you who are used to watching the channel should take note of the later than normal kick off time of 7:35pm. Details of how to get BBC Wales on Sky Digital are available on the Connacht rugby web site www.connachtrugby.ie.

Connacht: David Slemen; Niall O’Brien, Matt Mostyn, Mark McHugh, Conor McPhillips, Paul Warwick, Tom Tierney; Dan McFarland, Bernard Jackman, Peter Bracken, Pieter Myburgh, Andrew Farley, Paul Neville, Matt Lacey, John O’Sullivan.

Replacements: John Fogarty, Adrian Clarke, Michael Carroll, Michael Swift, Eric Elwood, Conor O’Loughlin, Ted Robinson.