Jump to main content


Connacht name side for Glasgow tie

Connacht name side for Glasgow tie

Michael Bradley has named his 22 for Saturday’s Celtic League tie against Glasgow.

Connacht have announced their starting xv for Saturday’s Celtic League opener against Glasgow (KO 2:30pm). A squad of 23 named on Wednesday has been reduced to 22 with Darren Yapp a late withdrawal due to injury. Niall O’Brien has recovered from injury to take a place on the bench.

Andrew Farley will lead out the Connacht side for his first competitive game as captain. Four players will make their competitive debuts for Connacht with David Slemen starting at full back, James Downey at inside centre, Paul Warwick at out half and Tom Tierney at scrum half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

South African prop Stephen Knoop and former Monivea and Clontarf winger/centre Niall O’Brien who both arrived during the summer will be among the replacements.

Bernard Jackman wasn’t considered due to international commitments, while Mark McHugh and Dan McFarland were not considered due to injury.

Connacht: 15. David Slemen 14. Ted Robinson 13. Matt Mostyn 12. James Downey 11. Conor McPhillips 10. Paul Warwick, 9. Tom Tierney 1. Adrian Clarke 2. John Fogarty 3. Peter Bracken 4. Christian Short 5. Andrew Farley 6. John Muldoon 7. Matt Lacey 8. John O’Sullivan.

Replacements: 16.Henry Bourke 17. Stephen Knoop 18. Michael Carroll 19. Paul Neville 20. Conor O’Loughlin 21. Eric Elwood 22. Niall O’Brien